You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving from NYC to San Diego - Part 3: What about healthcare? Conflicted over GOVT ASSISTANCE (cue scary music)

It is a huge racket! I have a nurse friend who wants to advocate for patients but that os being self employed, too. Sigh. I am very thankful for Matt's employer offering us Kaiser. One stop medical campus. Very expensive still.

Sort:  

Ridiculous. Turns out I need a crown. But in order to get that, I need to go see the primary doctor first, and then get a wellness check up from the dentist and then on the third visit back, I get to pay out of pocket for the crown and visit. I'm like, so if I'm paying out of pocket anyways, can't I skip the first two appointments?

When we had to get major orthodontics for Ivan, we discovered that a payment plan with the dentist office itself was cheaper and better than any dental insurance out there. 6K spread over 4 years for surgery, braces, xrays, cleaning, and partial denture for the teeth that never grew in.... I couldn't agree more that dentistry is a major part of overall healthcare! He still had baby teeth embedded in his jaw, which would have dissolved and caused heart damage or ??? It is unfathomable. Hope you get your crown and all care needed reasonably! A lot of Californians go to Mexico for dental care, saving thousands.

Oh yeah! I cant believe I didnt remember everyone telling me Mexico is the place to go to the dentist, LOL.

@dennisauburn also recommended his friend who is a dentist in Fallbrook. I drive by the office every day, and never realized it! If worse comes to worst and I cant deal with the politics of the appointment making, then I'm just gonna throw the whole bill on my Care Credit card and hope they offer 0% financing for at least 6 months. My dentist back in Brooklyn understood the bullshit that is insurance for dental so they let me put everything on that card and gave me years at 0% to pay it off. Even if the bill was $100, they still gave me at least 6 months.

My thoughts are with you. Dental issues are a serious bitch. Hugs