Wow it has been a While

in #entrepreneur2 years ago

So I have been absent here since 2020, a ton has changed for me since then. But lets rewind a bit.
untitled.gif
In 2018 I was injured on the job, which kept me at home for the next few years while I tried recuperating and going through surgery.

The surgery was unsuccessful, and I was ultimately declared permanent and had to go through the process to get a service-connected disability pension.

This pension is pretty small, so I realized I was going to need a new career. So I went back to school, re-enrolling at Western Governors University, and pounding out my bachelor's degree in an IT field in 6 months.

I bounced around a few months looking for a job, but everyone was short-changing market rates. So I wound up starting my own business instead.

Initially, this was providing remote computer repair and web design locally to business and residential customers. I landed a pretty cool contract providing IT services for the state fire camps.

Was an interesting and cool experience, but ultimately just not enough money in it since I had to be on-call 24/7 for 6 months straight.

But my actual business took off. Working from home and building it from scratch I managed to net around 25k the first year. It came to a point that I was bottlenecked. So I opened a physical location late last year, and everything went through the roof. I wont go into numbers of my current endeavor, but I have been increasing sales 20% each month, everything was paid for with cash from the previous years profit, and I could never be happier.

I did liquidate most of my hive through this process, a sign I budgeted was 5k more than I anticipated, so it was a good thing I got into this thing.

I will try to think about posting more, but I am literally always working right now. So we will see. I do enjoy this community but posting daily is hard.

If you are on the fence about starting your own thing just do it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @danile666! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 105000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 110000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @danile666, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a bit more support to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support will be really appreciated.
Thank you!