Growing The Concept (Repurposing from Blockchain)

I am a big believer in 'Ownership' of digital content. It seems silly that many individuals or small companies keep everything digital on a social platform. The platform has full control of the account, the posts inside, and could delete them at anytime thus eliminated the entire history of content that the individual has built.

Ownership should be paramount for a creator of any type, even digital, and it sucks having years worth of content suddenly be removed from a platform with no reason given. I could spread out my creations across multiple platforms but that doesn't solve the problem of it suddenly being removed from that platform with no warning.

there are personal websites and blogs that should be created instead to host such knowledge but hosting is often expensive.

The common process with online content is to upload it to a personal account/site and then slowly repost it to other platforms. This is still taught today but many are sleeping on the potential of Web 3 and how it utilizes the Blockchain to store data. Every 'article' or 'publication' can be traced to an origin account and thus ownership can be 'assured' in a manner. At least that is how I understand it. (If anybody would like to correct me I would appreciate it.)

So the concept I have been trying to understand is reversing the flow slightly. Beginning with a post on Web3/Blockchain and repurposing it towards Web2/social platforms and see how it turns out. I have been trying to share knowledge about creations on 'Blockchain' and how they could be utilized but I often run into the problems that the regular 'hype-people' have kicked up concerning 'Cryptocurrency' 'Blockchain' '10x-ing coins' and other dreck that turns many away from the idea of joining Web3/Blockchain.

So I will be 'Eating what I Serve' in a way and repurposing this post on my personal blog

And my Medium Account afterwards

I will edit them slightly so I don't get hit by accusations of 'Copy+Pasting' and of course link them back to this article for the original post.

I don't know why I am being driven to work on this Concept but it seems logical with how Technology, Industries, and the definition of Ownership & Assets are changing.

Good Luck Everyone!

Sort:  

Content repurposing is not a big sin. It's your content. Do what you want with it. If someone holds it against you for copying and pasting your own content, they have issues. I do it all the time. It's called repurposing and it's a legitimate content marketing strategy.

I will still use the base of the original creation for posts on other platforms. I think that adjusting the message for each platform helps allow the creation be more easily accepted amongst that community.

I will be repurposing much of my original creations across the platforms I am participating in and will take your advice into consideration. It would get ridiculous to see how many times can I re-edit the same creation before it turns into something else altogether.

Thank you for your comment and feedback!

Oh yeah, editing to make it fit for each community is certainly the best strategy. But if an article is good and evergreen, I see nothing wrong with using it as is if it's relevant to all the platform communities on which you post, as long as you own the content. What I do is, I link back to the original post with a phrase that says something like, "First published at ...."