Knowing How or What to Search for Relevant Information

It's extremely difficult finding 'actual' information regarding new technologies such as Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, and Web 3. The space is just littered with 'hype' people who all want a coin to '10x' or 'moon' so they can cash out and take a profit. Sometimes they give notable information that explains why that 'value' will go up, but generally it is just dreck.

I've had to fine tune my search phrases so much to boil down topics to find actual resources of knowledge about a subject in the Blockchain/Cryptocurrency space. Generative A.I. sometimes has periods of the 'hype' people spouting how an A.I. tool will make somebody rich, but the technology there is moving much faster than they can create.

The terms I've had to use to achieve better results are:

  • The Year/upload date
    The more recent the information the better when it comes to these technologies. Even messing with the search filter for approximate upload dates is preferable than going through the algorithms results.
  • 'Information', 'Conference', 'Interview', 'Utility', 'Use Cases'.
    The more detailed the keywords in the search bar the better results that will pop up. I've found many points of interest from videos that wouldn't have been in the search results normally. Many of them may look unimpressive but the knowledge and questions inside can lead to a grander idea of how others(People, Companies, Nations, ETC) are viewing the space/topic
  • Specific Terms tied to the Subject
    Using 'Umbrella terms' will be difficult in finding exact results. The more terminology you can use about a system INSIDE the subject will net better results that feature discussions about THAT SPECIFIC subject/topic.
  • Purpose
    This term is handy for finding out the nitty gritty about subjects. Almost everybody knows what 'it' is and what 'it' can do, but what is it's purpose? Why should more people want to understand and learn the subject? I've found some surprising answers that have made me rethink my perspective about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Web 3, Generative A.I. and other systems inside them.

--- Finishing up ---

There was going to be pictures of the 'hype' thumbnails, but I'm sure everybody has seen them when they look up a related subject to what I've talked about. It's difficult finding valuable information when there is so much trash that rises to the top. Knowing how to appropriately search for knowledge is a skill everybody should learn whenever they can, whether it be at a repository or on a search engine.

Like I've said, I want to share my knowledge so others can benefit in the long run. It's taken me years to figure out all these 'tidbits' of knowledge but even utilizing just a fraction of it will increase the useful information that can be found and used.

Thank you for reading! If there are any tips or advice on where and how to find information easier or better, please leave a comment below! I enjoy learning about new tools.

Sort:  

I also use the most current year in my search terms. Information changes so quickly that what was correct two years ago has probably changed.