You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Burning Land.

I guess the boomers were just the era where this all started, but only a small portion of the population could afford to live that. We got to a point where more and more could afford to spend and it was unsustainable. Now people don't want to give up their aircon (I certainly don't right now! 45°C and climbing).

I don't like to see a generation blamed when it's only really a small percentage who live that way. In many ways, it's the millennials and gen Zs who have gotten used to a comfortable life which most boomers never had and would struggle to give up their mod cons. Perhaps we gen Xs are more to blame for giving them what we never had growing up and now they take it for granted.

Sort:  

But it's so easy to blame someone!!! 🤣 you're right, the sad part is we know we are wrong and continue down our path. The good thing is the earth will still be here long after we are gone. Just depressing all the species we are bringing down with us. Then the old Viking saying goes would you save the world if you knew it's destruction brought a new one? I couldn't imagine having little ones with heat like that and no a/c. I'm more ashamed at the US lifestyle and as you said now it's spreading. I see it here in Germany as well.

🤣 isn't it just! If it's someone else fault then we don't have to fix it.

I don't know Germany well enough to make a judgement, but when I visited most of the people I visited certainly had much nicer things than we did and Germany was much cleaner than the places I was used to in England. Just my great aunt lived in more basic conditions. I'm guessing there would be a mixture just like anywhere, though.