How To Register Your Ethereum Address And Obtain Your EOS Public And Private Key Using MyEtherWallet ( MEW)

in #eos6 years ago (edited)


Photo Credit



Many like me, probably have been asking the same question I have been asking for days. How do I register this my ethereum address to get my EOS key?

EOS seems to be an extraordinary project to me and though I don't have many funds so would not like to miss out on the fireworks, I got a few from them on bitshares, sometime back when they were around 3 dollars. I used to kick myself for not buying more because it went all the way up to about $15 and I still do because it is at $6 which means I will have still made double of the little I bought if I had dumbly held all till now which I know I never would.

But hey, as I am still alive, all is not lost, the best is yet to happen and I have got my fingers crossed.

So why Register Your Ethereum Address?


Simply put, there is going to be a snapshot on the EOS blockchain after it is launched. Since all coins are currently running on the eth blockchain, you need to map it to the EOS address for it to be Snapped....

Well, if still don't get it, I suggest you visit here and duck your head into the pc screen and do some loop reading, yeah.


Now Lets Get Started


Some Big No No's

  • Do not register the eth address of an exchanger

  • Do not Register the eth address of an app where you do not hold access to the private keys

  • Do not think you have a million EOS or participated massivelyy in ICO so you cannot be skipped



How To Register Your Eth Address


This tutorial is assuming you have bought EOS, either from an exchanger or any of the EOS ICO distribution periods and have it in your MEW (MyEtherWallet)

You can select the others and follow If your EOS is in any of those wallets

  • Hit the GENERATE EOS KEYS button. This will generate an EOS public and private key, which we will need to save securely, especially, the private key.

  • Open a new tab and visit https://www.myetherwallet.com/#contracts, that is the contract page of MyEtherWallet

  • Click the drop down of the "select existing contract" section and choose EOS: Contribution.

  • This automatically populates the various fields and click Access

  • Now scroll down and select Register from the function drop down.

  • Input your EOS public key in space left for key string

  • Now unlock your MEW and Hit Write at the bottom.

  • It will initiate a transaction of 0 eth to the contract address, But you need some eth in your wallet to pay the transaction fee. Confirm and send

Hurray, we are done



But lets be double sure, Lets verify our registration was complete and the EOS address is mapped to our Eth address

  • Lets move back to the contracts tab

  • Going through the same process, select EOS - Contribution from the contract dropdown to automatically populate the fields and click Access

  • This time we will choose keys from the function dropdown

  • Input your Ethereum public address in the address field

  • Finally hit Read

If everything went well and address was registered, your EOS public address that was generated in the bigining will show up in the String field



This is @anaman from #SteemitGhana, #SteemitAshanti



Sort:  

Cant you just hold your eos on an exchange? Would you lose them when they launch?

Holding on exchange does not make you loose them but then you will be missing a whole lots of airdrops and stuff...

If you are loking at it as a hodler... It's good to have it on a wallet you have full control.

As a day trader... U can just keep it on exchange as you will be selling of and buying back as swings happen

What is that brother @anaman ??

eos or what i just wrote?

thanks in advance, but I am confused because I have not really understood @anaman

If you have eos you need to use this process to register your eth address and map ot to an eos address

Useful post! Thank you very much for sharing

Nice post. Resteem

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

How much gas is needed to register? I have .000124 atm but the transaction is requesting .3??

ok, this is what worked for me, I left everything and used the predefined amount that was set when I was set when I hit the write button. ie Gwei of 21 and 2100 gas limit

Buddy, i faced the same problem when i had wanted to register Eth address.
I quit in the process because it was too complicated for me.
Haven known the right process, i guess the registration process will be easy.
@anaman.

So @anaman , what is the use of this eos

This is a whole 1 full course in a semester... Guess you should start with a little google search