Mapping your EOS tokens for dummies - step by step walkthrough

in #eos7 years ago (edited)



I just did a post on how EOS tokens are a bargain at the moment and everyone seemed to agree. There was another common thread in the comments though: people seem to be intimidated and confused by the mapping process you need to complete in order to eventually receive tokens on the actual EOS blockchain.

The aim of this article is to make the process as simple as possible, as such, we will be using the recommended setup: Google Chrome, MetaMask Ethereum Wallet and the EOS Token Distribution App. You can use any Ethereum wallet that is compatible with the EOS Token Distribution App, but if you are reading this, it is probably a good idea to just use the recommended setup.

Also this guide is only concerned with setting up MetaMask and mapping your EOS keys to your Ethereum address - I assume you have already purchased EOS tokens and have them stored on exchange or in an incompatible wallet. If you already have your EOS tokens in an Ethereum wallet which is compatible with the EOS Token Distribution App (MyEtherWallet, Exodus* etc), you can skip straight to the final section of this guide.

*Thanks to @mike-power below for letting me know the Exodus wallet is now compatible with the EOS Token Distribution App. I haven't used this wallet myself, but sounds like it may be the easiest way to buy and register EOS tokens - once you have purchased/stored EOS tokens in Exodus, you can skip straight to the last part of this guide!

Creating a MetaMask wallet


  1. Open Google Chrome (You can download here if you haven't already)
  2. Go to the MetaMask Chrome Plugin page, click 'Add to Chrome' and then "Add Extension"
  3. Once the plugin installation is complete, you will be taken to the metamask.io website (you can watch the introduction video here if you like)
  4. There should now be a little fox icon to the right of the Chrome address bar. Click this icon, scroll down and accept the terms of service.
  5. Enter a strong 8 character password, confirm the password and click 'create'
  6. Record your 12 recovery words and store them somewhere safe - this is the only way to recover wallet access if you forget your password!
  7. Repeat step 6 and click "I've copied it somewhere safe"
  8. Welcome to your new MetaMask Ethereum wallet!




Adding and depositing EOS tokens to your MetaMask Wallet



Token Address: 0x86fa049857e0209aa7d9e616f7eb3b3b78ecfdb0
Token: EOS
Decimals of Precision: 18

  1. Click the "Tokens" tab, click "Add Token", enter the info above and click the "Add" button (you will receive no confirmation the operation has been successful)
  2. Click the " . . . " menu button and select "Copy address to clipboard"
  3. Your new EOS-ready Ethereum address has been copied to the clipboard - send your EOS tokens from exchange/incompatible wallet etc to this address
  4. Wait about 5 minutes (depending on network traffic) and your EOS tokens should arrive in your wallet:




Generating your EOS keys and mapping to your MetaMask Ethereum address



Note: you will need a little bit of Ether in your MetaMask wallet to complete the following stage. It's annoying I know - this is why we are all switching to the fee-free world of EOS

  1. Go to eos.io, click "Tokens" and click "Get EOS"
  2. Agree to the "EOS Token Purchase Agreement" by ticking the 4 check boxes and clicking "Continue"
  3. Scroll down to the heading 'Recommended Configuration' and click "EOS Token Distribution App"
  4. Once the interface is loaded, click "Generate EOS Key"
  5. Scroll down to see your new EOS public and private keys. Back these up in multiple safe locations.
  6. Repeat step five and click "I have safely backed up my private key"
  7. You will receive a notification in MetaMask - click "Submit"
  8. Wait a few minutes for the transaction to be confirmed and then refresh the EOS Token Distribution App
  9. Success you should now see a public EOS key linked to your Ethereum address as below:





    Note: If you did not have enough Ether in your account to register your key at step 7, you will have to fund your account with the required Ether, refresh the EOS Token Distribution App and start again at step 4.


Thanks guys, I hope you found this step by step walkthrough helpful. If so, I'll gladly accept donations of Ether or EOS to the following address:

0x25b2debc0cf1f2ddcdc85f076edea58f3004e54a

Sources

twitter.com/eos
eos.io



As usual, 20% of the rewards from this post will be split with @centerlink for the communal benefit of #TeamAustralia
Team Aus footer by the amazing @bearone


This post was brought to you by @msp-creativebot

Sort:  

I have EOS held in bitfinex do i still need to do all you have mentioned ? Cheers mike . Ps just resteemed

Correct, you don't have to do right away though - just before the ICO ends.

I had no idea, there seems quite a lot to do , cheers mike

It looks a lot worse than it is, the EOS Token Distribution App is actually pretty intuitive :)

Exodus wallet is compatible only in the last week or so. I already registered the EOS Tokens in my exodus wallet.

Just a heads up 😉

Oh sweet, thanks for letting me know - I was just going off the info on the eos.io website. I will amend the FAQ accordingly :)

All good mate 😊

Hey mike - how does it work? I have Exodus too, and that's where my EOS is.

Thanks Mike
I'll give it a shot 😊
Much appreciated!

No worries let me know how you go :)

Congratulations. This post features in my latest Curation Article. @MrSquiggle - supporting the #TeamAustralia community and promoting creative content. Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @mrsquiggle to continue to support the #TeamAustralia community.

Thanks bulleth. I am long EOS. Am stacking on Bitfinex.

Have you been having any trouble buying EOS through metamask the last couple of days? My metamask wallet just keeps saying failed when i try make a contribuation to the daily sale...has been perfect for the last 2 months, just last couple of days wont allow my transactions to complete?

Do you need to do any of this if your tokens are on an exchange, even if you don't plan on being a programmer on the EOS platform?

This is very well written! Keep it up!

Thanks Lincoln, appreciate it!

I have been buying Eos on exchanges due to this complicated process. With your guide, I might try to store them in my own wallet. Thank you.

Nice. You can also register tokens through myetherwallet.com. Thanks for the information.

Thanks Scoot, yeah that was the other web-wallet they recommend on the website :)

I resteemed your post can you resteem mine

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

Pretty stoked I just got a resteem from Taylor Swift.

I know its not best practice but

Was that a half finished sentence?

Indeed very strange :)

I know its not best practice but I keep my altcoins on an exchange. With all those different wallets its too confusing for me and therefore risking errors.

A lot of people who already purchased or will be purchasing EOS need this information. I noticed that not a lot of people knew about the registration.

Tell me about it. I only know because I decided to buy some on exchange and some via ICO to see which was cheaper. Exchange told me nothing about this process.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bulleth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Not sure if this is only for dummies. Even clever people struggle.

Metamask was giving me trouble. I'll refer to this next time I need it. Bookmarked!

I followed and upvote for you. I would be happy if you also help me. Thanks

Hey thanks for putting this together - Is there another step to "claim" the tokens? I notice that button is greyed out. Thanks again!

That was helpful and now timely. Eos.io might have changed because near last step “Generate EOS key” has changed to "Register EOS Key"