"The Dog Ate My Blacklist!" Part 貳

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

It's been an interesting 24 hours since I published the last article, to say the least. From YouTube Vlogs to Reddit articles, several people have expressed their opinions about my findings of eos.store. As a result of this public interest, the block producer decided they should issue a press release to "set the record straight".

Screenshot (334).png

In the following, I will dissect their statement in order to arrive at a conclusion of what they're "really" saying:

Screenshot (336).png

Claim #1: "No formal announcement of the [blacklist] could be found."
Q: If true, why were you the ONLY block producer that didn't update their records? Certainly, other block producers should have failed to do so if the blacklist was truly nowhere to be found.

Claim #2: The information of these frozen accounts did not appear in [the] following channels...
Q: Immediately after stating that, you then say: "Only in Keybase and EOS 911 could you find this information."
If the information COULD BE FOUND in Keybase and EOS 911, why didn't you find it?!

baloney.jpg

Now for the moment you've been waiting for where what one says doesn't always guarantee what one means.

When I was a kid playing in the front yard with a buddy, every once in a while my mother would call me into the house and surprise me. She'd go into the freezer and pull out two popsicles, one for my friend and I. She got pleasure by allowing me to do the honors of delivering the treat to my friend. What she was doing, unknowingly to me, was teaching me a valuable life lesson. Many times these popsicles came in different flavors. I loved the cherry ones the best, but sometimes so did my guest. The old 'hold one behind your back and only give your buddy one option' trick didn't work well most of the time. Sometimes both popsicles behind your back having him pick which hand "the good one" is in worked, but many times it didn't and left an unsettling after-thought to me when I knew, and he didn't know, that I switched the popsicles behind my back guaranteeing myself to get the one I wanted regardless of which hand he picked. As I grew a little older, I realized the right thing to do for a guest is to offer him the two choices and accept that he probably likes cherry just as much as I do, and that's ok.

Screenshot (337).png

You can imagine the adulation I had the first time I read this. I thought, It really is a possibility to share your voice which can influence how block producers conduct themselves in an integrity-filled manner, using fact-based evidence. It only took 5 minutes before I realize that idea was completely wrong, at least in regards to eos.store.

In the following, I present to you what I like to call the popsicle test:

As the eos.store press release caught wind, several people started giving their opinions of it. One thoughtful and wise opinion came from Dan Larimer, the brains behind EOS.io. With representatives from eos.store participating in the conversation, Mr. Larimer suggested:

Screenshot (315).png

Kevin Ross, representing EOSNewYork, a block producer I respect and advocate for, suggested:

Screenshot (342).png

My response was simple and to the point:

Screenshot (340).png

Simon, from eos.store, suggested the answer to my question, which was "when did they make the victim whole?", could be found by reading their press release:

Screenshot (344).png

I replied by highlighting a section of the press release:

Screenshot (346).png

But I'm certain you just led me to believe that you paid?:

Screenshot (348).png

At this point, I'm starting to get a little ticked because double-talk is a huge pet-peeve of mine, but before I'm able to let eos.store "have it", Dan again offers reasonable advice to a fully grown man that should be able to make this very basic decision on his own......and then I let them have it.

Screenshot (350).png

"Can we get a janitor in here ASAP!":

Screenshot (352).png

Simon Says (dad joke):

Screenshot (354).png

Ole' Dan starts busting balls:

Screenshot (356).png

...and then I decided to:

Screenshot (358).png

But it's not our fault:

Screenshot (360).png

Worse than sad. Downright pathetic:

Screenshot (362).png

Really? You think it's our fault? Duhh:

Screenshot (364).png

After this, Simon and his eos.store prodigy's left the room. So, let me know your thoughts below. Do you think eos.store will do the right thing? Will the EOS community do the right thing using their votes? What do you believe the right thing to do is? They're definitely listening. After my article last night, eos.store climbed in a matter of hours from #20 to #10 position. Heck, do you think I did the right thing? Let me know. Until next time.

Sidebar: A group of people that enjoy investigative research into matters like this have recently put together a telegram forum. Join us when you can and share information that you might know. We'd love to hear from you: https://t.me/EOSBPCompliance

EOSio Donations: cigarbutts11

Sort:  

@EOSTribe has stepped up to lead a community effort for the token holders effected by this situation.

We welcome eos.store to donate in case they change their minds on this issue.

https://steemit.com/eos/@eostribe/making-it-right-giving-back-to-the-token-holders-effected-by-scams

Thanks for the valuable cliff notes. In my opinion it is obvious EOS Store have demonstrated complete incompetence, and should be voted out. However, what is alarming to me is that they have climbed the ranks from #20 (when your original post was published) to #8! (at time of writing). There is clearly something awry here in regard to whales keeping them in.

Very disturbing, indeed.

Wow!!! Before I even read your commentary I could see for myself the trickery. They are not actually themselves spearheading what they should have done which is offer to make amends for their own obvious lack of awareness of what is going on, made explicit by the fact that every other BP managed to get the memo but they somehow didn't. This has evasion of taking responsibility all over it. It is beyond me why they continue to rise in rank, but they in my opinion should be voted out of existence for this.

Congratulations @cigarbutts! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!