You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just the Facts (EOS Proxy by eosratings.com)

in #eos5 years ago

wow excellent point. I think only the VAM is manual when it comes to adding the tools. I have no way to automatically add tools that BPs create. However, if we proposed that BPs add to their bp.json all the tools they have created I could automate that piece.

  1. Performance does not require communication to me. Although not all BPs get a performance rating because they are not in the top 21 slot. I was working on getting performance stats from the test network so we could get an idea how a BP would perform if they did slot into the top 21.
  2. Popular Vote does not require any communication to me. This is available via the chain
  3. VAM does require communication to me. But like I said above if we could get this added to the bp.json we might have something here :-). The rating system on the tools is automatic though.
  4. Validation does not require any communication to me. This is up to the BPs to keep their bp.json files upto date and websites.
  5. Global location. This is also up to the BPs and doesn't require any special communication to me.
    So... with that said. If we could somehow have the tools BPs are creating in the bp.json or into a contract on the chain then I could be 100% out of the picture. Which I would really like :-).
    Just some thoughts. Thanks for the input.
Sort:  

That's a fantastic idea! I just created an issue ticket on the bp.json repo for it.

I agree, it seems only the WAM is a bit subjective / manual. I agree, this could be improved. As a proxy voter, I think about the deliverables a BP supports as being quite important beyond just technical excellence as a block producer.

Unfortunately, in my 2+ years of DPoS experience, I have not yet seen a good way to measure technical excellence when it comes to block production. It's easy to become a popularity contest or a "how many whales do you know" activity. Measuring the technical competency of a block production team at doing the actual job of running reliable, secure nodes and properly evaluating code changes and (importantly) protocol consensus changes as they come up is not something very easy to score. When Block One is pushing out emergency security updates in closed conversations, for example, the wider world doesn't know which BPs have the expertise necessary to evaluate those change requests and respond to them in a timely manner. Due to the nature of those situations, the details of how they are handled should not be made public because of responsible disclosure and the importance of getting consensus witnesses patched and upgraded quickly before a vulnerability is exploited. It also means voters don't have all the information needed to make well-informed decisions.

Again, I applaud your efforts to improve the transparency of the whole ecosystem.

I just update some of my views on your post to github. I think it would be better if we had someone create a smart contract much like the eos-proxyinfo. https://github.com/AlohaEOS/eos-proxyinfo
Here are some of my thoughts:
A smart contract that BPs can use to register tool/app/education/resource etc. I'm thinking this could be something in the vain of how proxy account register today
I would like to see something like

  • EOS account name: Your EOS account name. If a BP should be the one that they use to produce blocks so they get the credit.
  • Project Name: This could be the name of the tool,app,topic etc...
  • Description: A short description of your project intended to be shown in listings.
  • Website: An http or https URL to a website, Reddit post, etc. with more information about your Project.
  • Logo: An http or https URL to an image with the size of 256 x 256 px. This should be the logo for the project not the BP's main logo
  • Project Status: Is this in Dev, Beta or Production
  • Category: This is optional I have some categories I have already created located here https://eosratings.com/top-tools/ for example, explorers, wallets, voting, resources, outreach, education, testnet, key managment, identity, account creation, chain contracts, and a host of monitors and trackers.