You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EOS.IO Development Update

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

Steem is mentioned 4 times in your post, @dan (I include the tag). So it would be safe to conclude that a Steem-like dapp will run on EOS, I guess.

Why would we need a SteemOnEOS when we already have Steem? What would be the advantages?

Sort:  

... if they rebuild steemoneos ... airdrop to eos holders ... it will take advantage of eos distribution ... a lot less whales... votes will be worth more and minnows will now have a higher stake.

I mean, why wouldn't Steem just migrate to Eos? It already has Graphene infrastructure. It makes no sense to build another coin when Steem is already ahead and can be converted faster than a new one can be built..

whaleees

STEEM doesn't come with any EOS with which to board. And STEEM dollars won't be compatible with EOS dollars.

Eos isn't even out yet so idk what that means... It's built on the same infrastructure. I'm not sure I understand what that second part means either.. Why wouldn't you be able to trade steem dollars for Eos dollars on an Eos Dapp? Seems perfectly possible to me. Have you read the whitepapers and know something I don't?

Yeah, that could be possible advantages, but actually I'm really curious about @dan's perspective on this.

Very interesting perspective, I wouldn't be surprised to see it happen.

GREAT answer!!! Thank you, namaste :)

My limited understanding is that EOS is a smart contract platform, I'm not sure if it would be suited for developing a social media app onto... Would be grateful for more input

On EOS you can run multiple steemit like platforms. All running as Dapps, EOS can run ethereum as well with out a hitch you can essentially create an uber type platform as well with out concern to speed and or bandwidth.

I'm not sure if it would be suited for developing a social media app onto

I believe it would be possible to create a sophisticated social media app, in which you could curb the :self-aggrandising: that happens on Steem. For example, rewards could be based on a direct transfer of coins (rather than a common pool), and for motivating this you could add a curator reward clause as part of the transaction.

Excellent question! Namaste :)

Ned won't be there