A US citizen's book entry into steemit on how to get into the EOS smart contract blockchain. Part 5

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

This is an update to my steemit book entry on my venture into the new world of EOS.
Please refer to my previous post chain using this link.
https://steemit.com/eos/@jayem/a-us-citizen-s-book-entry-into-steemit-on-how-to-get-into-the-eos-smart-contract-blockchain-part-4

So here I am in bitshares playing around with different assets that are on bitshares. Now the bitEOS assets that I have on bitshares are not real EOS tokens, in that they do not have voting right and they do not get airdrops like I had mistakenly assumed in the previous post. I am gointg to have to convert my bitEOS into real tokens using a wallet like greymass or simpleEOS (which is not simple BTW) and register my tokens.

However, at the moment I am still holding my silver quints that I cannot sell at close to their intrinsic values as there is not much of a market in bitshares for quints. If I sell them at a huge discount like I mistakenly did last week then I will be able to sell them. but why would I want to do that? So out of the $100 I initially invested, I now only have about $40 worth in bitshares while I am waiting for the rest of my silver quints to sell at a reasonable price. They have been sitting there in the market for almost a week now without getting anywhere while I adjusted the price as bitsharse prices fluctuated. So as you can imagine this part is really frustrating right now. If I need to put up $40 for RAM for my username, I will be left with a small amount for actual EOS tokens. Seems to me, right now, like I should reconsider going with the Kraken option and pay the wire transfer fee.

I am not giving up yet. But as @lukestokes was commenting about earlier this week, this is one example of why people are not showing up in droves on the EOS platform. Maybe I should just move to Canada or Mexico, because the US is succeeding at making it hard for us US citizens to get into cryptos.

Again, if you have any comments or question, I would love to hear them.

Stay tuned...

This is a link to my next post https://steemit.com/eos/@jayem/a-us-citizen-s-book-entry-into-steemit-on-how-to-get-into-the-eos-smart-contract-blockchain-part-6