A US citizen's book entry into steemit on how to get into the EOS smart contract blockchain. Part 7

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

This is an update to my steemit book entry on my venture into the new world of EOS.
Please refer to my previous post chain using this link.

https://steemit.com/eos/@jayem/a-us-citizen-s-book-entry-into-steemit-on-how-to-get-into-the-eos-smart-contract-blockchain-part-6

So I have been playing around with EOS trying to get my block producer votes in while waiting for the rest of my silver quints to sell at a reasonable price. So this week instead of adjusting my market ask price as the price of bitshares fluctuated, mostly to the down side, I left my ask price the same, hoping that someone would see the discouted price, in effect, and some one picked it up at my ask price of 7.75 BTS ea, where it should have been adjusted to about 10.0 to 10.5 BTS at the time. I am just glad it finally sold them and good for him or her, the one that snapped them up. It was not a big loss because it is not a big initial investment. So from my initial $100+$17 investment what I have now is worth about $50-$60. Most of the loss comes from selling my quints in a weak market at a discount, and the rest I would blame on the general downward trend of the cryptos that I played with while on the bitshares platform like BTS, STEEM, BTC, open.EOS and open.EOSDAC, etc.

So now I am on EOS, my username being "momechdesign" for my own Morin Mechanical Design business. I have been getting a lot of experience on how the platform works and managed to get my votes in for 25 block producers. I have been voting for names I recognized like libertyblock and eosfish, names of eos tools and help providers like greymass and eoscanada and also selected names that are from other coutries like Russia, Venezuela, and Africa.

I have been using both eos-voter from greymass and simplEOS from eosrio I believe. I seem to like eos-voter better. I also have Scatter that I used used to generate my key pair but I am not sure what else I can use that interface for. It still won't fetch my account for some reason. Again, I am not sure if I am doing things right.

While doing some tasks the the error messages would tell me that there was not enough ram, telling me that there was a certain amount and it need a bigger amount, to complete certain tasks like voting. And so, I finally realized I just needed to buy more RAM, something that was easy to do on eos-voter. I need a small amount click on the "buy RAM button and selected how much RAM I needed and it would tell me how many EOS was needed at the going rate and one click later I have the RAM and went ahead and completed the task. Another hurdle to overcome when doing this task was the amount of CPU and bandwidth resources that you have on the platform. At the moment there appears to be plenty of bandwidth resources but the CPU resources is much less. So you can stake more EOS towards CPU, there initially set you up with 0.1 EOS when you sigh up, so I upped it to 1.0 and still the CPU resources is minimal. This CPU resources fluctuate over time and sometimes there appear to be more resources than at other times. So I managed to get my votes in when the CPU resources were a plenty. Also worth mentioning here is that the amount of voting power you have is based on the amount of EOS tokens that you have staked in CPU and bandwidth resources.

So what to do now that I am on EOS with an account name? Well I would have to start getting involved with the two projects that I am most interested in. And that would be cadeos and eosdac.

And so with this I will make this my last post on this series. I hope that this can help others on navigating through the process of getting onto the EOS platform. And again, should you have any questions, comments, or corrections, I will be glad if you posted them below.

So it took me 7 weeks to get to this point. Some of you may think this is a long time just for this. But as for me, I see it as 7 weeks off better than where I would have been had I never started this process in the first place, if I thought that 7 weeks is too much time. Seven weeks will go by whether you do something about it or not.

Thanks you for your attention and I'll see you on the EOS side.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added
Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!