You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Notes on Wren, the Language of EOS

in #eos7 years ago

The reason I used quotes in my post is because I don't think the word "government" will even apply to what we do in the future. Again, I recognize that comes from my current definition of the word (monopoly on the use of force within a geographic region). What we'll have in the future will be completely voluntary controlled by smart contracts and our shared desire for wellbeing. The current thing we call "government" won't apply at all, if all goes well.

Thanks for the follow. Much appreciated. :)

Sort:  

What would you call that? I think it's a stake weighted constitutional libertarian republic.

What would you call that?

That's a really good question. We can't have something unless we're first able to imagine and define it so we can build it.

I'd call it peaceful coexistence.

I'd call it voluntaryism.

I'd call it the natural order of conscious beings high enough Maslow's Hierarchy to use technologies to achieve wellbeing.

I'd call it rational living.

The words we use are so important because they shape our thoughts which shape our actions. So many government words like "republic" have negative connotations for me because they imply the use of violence as every government has always done throughout history. If we take that key component away, it becomes something more like a club or a home owners association which is defined by voluntary agreements between adults. I think the current language fails us here, and we should look to new words to describe the future we want.

Collective? Intentional Community?

Unfortunately, many individualists put up all kinds of defensive walls when they hear "collective" language because they think it'll just be another back door for the use of violence and mob rule or the confiscation of their hard-earned property. Since the philosophy of liberty sees property as an extension of oneself in the past, expropriating it for the greater good of the collective can cause some philosophical problems.

I like intentional community quite a bit.

It's a term already in use. It describes communities (which might be a good word), that has decdided to move to a common location to live a certain way.

Yeah, that's my understanding of it as well. I've discussed the concept with a few friends over the years. Maybe some day we'll all make enough money on crypto to make it a reality. :)