Claiming EOS Tokens from the ICO for those having issues with Metamask

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

Hello There Again,

This guide is for those who have participated or plan in participating in the EOS ICO and would like to claim the tokens via the ICO, but are having troubles with claiming them via Metamask... Don't worry, you're not the only one.

I initially tried claiming the tokens via metamask, following the guide EOS provides on their official site... but after 3-4 failed attempts, draining my eth through the gas needed for the transaction attempts, I decided to try something else.

Let's get Started:

  1. Export Your Metamask Wallet Private Key
  2. Open MEW, remember to check your URL for any misspellings, you should have that padlock symbol if you're using chrome like me. Select Contracts & EOS as your existing contract:
  3. Click "Access" at the bottom of the page
  4. This is the webpage you should see when you scroll down after clicking "Access"
  5. Go to your EOS distribution page and check the periods you purchased the tokens in, as well as ensure that you have completed steps 1, 2 & 3 in the MEW page earlier.
    SideNote: This is where I figured out why Metamask claim wasn't working. The claimAll function of the eos claim page is broken right now. Metamask uses the claimAll function, so please disregard Step 4 of the MEW page.
  6. Go to "Select a Function" and Select "claim"
  7. Type in the period you would like to claim for in the "day" field; Select "Private Key" for the second question and paste your Metamask Wallet Private Key there.
  8. Select "Unlock your wallet" Then Select "Write"
  9. You should find the below pop-up on the webpage
  10. Check that "Amount" is set to "0" & Select "Generate Transaction"
  11. Select "Yes, I am sure! Make Transaction" & Wait.... (You might want to save your TX number, or whatever it's called)
  12. Open your wallet in MEW using the "View Wallet" Tab & your Metamask Private Key to check if your EOS has been added to your wallet yet.

If you follow the above instructions you should be able to claim your EOS... I tried it twice and it worked! I tried to be as detailed as I could in the instructions, but I may have missed a few things as I'm writing this article a few days after I tried the transactions and suddenly decided to inform the rest of the internet of my methods...

Do comment below if you have any questions, feedback or comments. C:

If you found this guide helpful please upvote this post or follow me :pray:

Fun Fact The Siamese or Thais (People from Thailand) greet each other and thank each other by :pray: and bowing as a gesture of respect

Sort:  

Hi rotibakar, nice post with clear instructions. Something i noticed too. When did you last try using the EOS distribution app? because it was update recently to use the 'claim' function instead of 'claim all' see my post here https://steemit.com/eos/@johnchamberlain/eos-token-distribution-instructions-update

I think the token claim is only to transfer to another wallet, the important part is registering before June 2018.

It's been about a week, I have not tried the most recent update to the EOS Distribution App so this guide might be a little backdated and obsolete by now...

In order to actually claim your tokens you need to register your key, doesn't matter when... But claiming your token will allow you participate in token trading in the market, which some people may be interested in doing. Really depends on what your intention is..

This is the first simple explanation of how to use the 'claim' function. You helped me, thanks!

I'm glad my guide was of some use ^~^

WHY WONT MY EMOTE WORK :<
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rotibakar to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I followed several different tutorials with tips on how to claim these coins. This is the ONLY one that worked for me! This is so much faster and cheaper than the "claim all" function most tutorials recommend. THANK YOU.

I’m a newbie. I need to register my EOS tokens. My tokens are currently in Exodus wallet. I have metamask. Do I have to use mew in conjunction with metamask? I also cannot find where on the EOS.io site it says ‘register tokens’. Please help!