Lesson learned: Be careful with EOS.io, maybe better use the exchanges!

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit friends,

If you want to get some EOS, you should be careful if you want to get
them from eos.io! I was curios about how many EOS I would get from
the actual ICO now, so I tried it. :D
I kind of thought, maybe I could get them a little bit cheaper,
even if they are already traded on the exchanges and the first
distribution period is over! :P :P So I gave it a try!

And...... that was a really, really, really bad idea!
(I should have bought them from bitfinex, kraken etc...)

What happened?
I have sent ETH worth about 42 USD to eos.io (that's not much, I know :D)
and than claimed the cool EOSs. (At least at that point
I was really excited :D ) Then I've seen that I've
received 7.045 EOS, worth now about 24 USD. :(
When I claimed them, EOS was worth about 5 USD on bitfinex.
According to my calculations I've paid about 6 USD :(

At least I am happy that I haven't bought (and lost) more!

Lesson learned! :D :D

So, don't make the same mistake out of curiosity!
;)

Have a nice day!

PS: If I made any mistake with calculations or missed/misunderstood
anything about EOS ICO etc. please let me know.
Thank you.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips... Keep it up!

Thanks for sharing and good luck with your invest :)

Thank you, you too ;)

This isn't bad. Sure the time (period) you invested in was not good (better in exchanges) BUT that truly tells you something else : people want EOS. I did the same ''mistake'' with way more money. What I think is going to happen is that that price will reach 0.0022 (cost of period 2), since people where prepared to buy it at that price initialy, we will have to see.

Also, it's not every day you see a coin go from rank 750 to rank 9 in a few days. This will attrack attention and people will buy. Just hold on for now.

Ok, thanks for the info. :) I will hodl! :P

Thank for the tip, and good luck with investing make sure you understand everything before investing too much in one place

It tells you on the EOS IO distribution site what you paid for the coin, and it all depends on how much is invested into the pot, you only receive you $ worth of shares in the total pot so one day you could pay less and another you could pay more, all depends if people are still interested in buying from the EOS.IO site

if EOS.IO works like an exchange, i would prefer to buy them on exchanges, cheeper and more and i can set limit und choice the price, when to buy. So i don't need to hope the best on EOS.IO Great post and good advice. Thanks to the post creator.

good to know. i was gonna get in on the ico as well

Great post

A lot of people cashed out on EOS... When it hit $5 they had sell orders for 10X the ICO price and made a killing.

Well that is worth about 70 usd now and it is still going up my valuation of the coin is somewhere around 350-400 usd after the ico ends... Hope you didnt sell it ..... That 48 bucks isnt going to mean anything to you in a few years.... Even at 10 usd a coin i would say, buy, buy, buy. Upto 13% of your total investments. Just so you know XRP is looking great as well.(wink)

Welcome @supastix. I hope you enjoy here as much as I do! Nice post, I will follow your account, please follow me at @rohitrajput.