You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE EOS.IO BLOG HAS MOVED

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

Really, why does Steemit allow you to up-vote yourself then, why not just get rid of it?

Oh, and I really did not know that about Dan and Ned, which is a real shame actually. It's not good for Ned either, because Dan could easily create a Steemit competitor on the EOS blockchain.

Anyway, about the self up-voting thing, if they don't like it, they need to have the witnesses remove it. Also, I take Steemit 1 day at a time. If I get attacked by whales unfairly, I will leave and never look back.

A life lived in fear, is no life at all.

Sort:  

It's not possible to stop self-voting because Steem has no account/identity constraints except stake. A block on self voting could be avoided by creating one posting account and another voting account.

There's nothing wrong with self-upvotes as long as the content merits the upvote. Voting should ideally be based on the value of the content, not bias for or against the person who posted it.

Too true, especially the part where you mentioned people having dual accounts, like how is anyone suppose to know whose account is whose, which is probably the reason why they just allowed self-up-voting from the start, to help prevent the multiple account issue.

I technically have dual accounts as well, though my other account is used for a different purpose.

Well I was defending your right to do as your please but you kind of sound like Dan now

"I'm taking my lunch and going home!"