How to limit EOS witness overselling capacity ?

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

What will be limiting the ability of EOS witness nodes to oversell their resources ? Network capacity benchmarks ?

In the context of STEEM,

If  20 nodes all with an average capacity of 30 000 Tx/s set their blocksize limit to something that would equate 300 000 tx/s if 100% of SP was being used to fill blocks. 

If 30% of steem is in STEEM Power, and 5-10% of SP is ever being used at once. It mean witness have a temptation to oversell their resources by 20-50 times.

It could be disruptive to some dapp business models if they were promised a stable or even ever increasing network capacity but being early and alone on the network, were being over-delivered bandwidth relative to the number of EOS tokens they hold.


@dan

Sort:  

Is there an incentive for EOS witnesses to oversell their capacity?

Steem witnesses who fail to create blocks will not get paid and will probably lose votes.

Well they could claim they have more powerful setup than they actually have to gain votes and fail to deliver should need be. Seems like the only way to theoretically max out the network is to use 100% of EOS tokens, which is never going to happen. So some level of overselling is to be expected.

Perfect image to go with the content - explains it so well.

Some good questions you pose. Sadly, I guess there is no way to test this - we would need to cross that bridge when we get to it. It will be interesting to see how it plays out.

How would someone be able to oversell their resources? Aren't there programs in place to prevent that? I am new on here but that confuses me.

Did not understand the technical details

Although I haven't dug deeply enough to verify your concerns, I'm thankful that you are raising them and hope they are addressed. upvoted @roused

These issues will take time to resolve I think

I wonder how this model will perform as the traffic increases.... hmmmm....

I'm not sure. EOS is still quite mysterious.

That's the whole point with the money making scheme.

this went over my head

indeed mate!

That truck looks the way my brain feels right now reading your article. Great job confusing the hell out of me.

Thank you @transisto for this info, the update is quite helpful.

Thanks for the info aleast it is an eye opener for novice like me who don't know muxh about the technicality and the jaggons behind these crptocurrencies

Looks like the litecoin bus right now lol

Didn't understand the technical part

I came here for the Arte 😂

Yours Truly,

#Theillgloryfactory 🙏🙏🙏

Sorry what are you saying ?

I am saying the picture was what really drew me in! Its deceived me. Great Post NoneTheless
Familia. 🙏🙏🙏

Informative post keep sharing :)

EOS is the only top ten crypto being up, well besides etc