This summit is made of mist

in #esoteric6 years ago (edited)

This summit
-is made of mist-

original poetry


sailboat-blue-mountain-mist.jpg


thumbnail-placid-wavelength (1).jpg


There's a wavelength so placid
That arrives during motionlessness


On the crest of its grey rainbow
My body discards itself and
Selects the infinite.


Concerns are exchanged for urgings:
Proliferation must go on.

{dark . corners . vibrant . facebeam
unknown setting . features morph
you . I . it . We . vague
certainty escapes.
that I am, even
cannot be}


Gaurantees vanish; there is only discovery.
In a moment that explores itself
There is an updrafting ephiphany:

The summit of petrified awareness
Is the foothills, veiled in mist.


sailboat-blue-mountain-mist (1).jpg


thumbnail-placid-wavelength.jpg


thumbnail-placid-wavelength (2).jpg

Notes


This poem explores the paradox of lucidity and confusion that comes with consciousness. It seeks to show parallels between the dream state and the waking state, and the states of ignorance and knowledge. In short, it is a nondualistic vignette expounded through the medium of dualistic languaging. (As always, feel free to forego reading these notes; they are optional, for those who desire a concrete aid to fuller comprehension.)

Stanza 1-3

There's a wavelength...must go on.
.
While meditating in stillness, there is a serene energy that becomes perceptible. It is so comforting that the body willingly forgets itself. Worldly concerns are discarded, in exchange for the more visceral urgings, typically connected with "proliferation" i.e. procreation & the longing for opposite polarities to unite.

Stanza 4

dark corners...cannot be.
.
The paradox of clarity and vagueness of reality, especially in dream states. The confusion is so deep that it is even uncertain whether the "I" actually exists!

Stanza 5 & 6

guarantees vanish...veiled in mist.
.
In order to find the real, we leave behind the stability of comfortable illusions. There is an autonomous nature to the process; it is the universe learning about itself. Suddenly we realize that no matter how clear our awareness becomes, what we thought was the summit of perfection is only the foothills of a higher density of wholeness.

sailboat-blue-mountain-mist (2).jpg


insane-rainbow-misty-hills-disappeared.jpg


landscape-411714_1920 (2).jpginsane-rainbow-misty-hills-disappeared (2).jpg

Written by
@d-pend
1/22/18

Images are
free domain &
edited by @d-pend.

insane-rainbow-misty-hills-disappeared (1).jpglandscape-411714_1920 (1).jpg


landscape-411714_1920.jpg


Sort:  

Explaining the stanzas is a good effort and idea that you made !! Your poetries were hard to understand otherwise!! I mean, due to the tough language, vocabulary and deepness they hold !!

Nice work as always :)

FB065E54-490B-4B2E-AE68-B51671C71AFF.png

Your poem is very cool, I like it. I love to hear poetry combined with music, when I am stressed or again a lot of problems in my life, poetry and music are my friends. You can smartly write poetry with, because I can not write poetry. Thanks for sharing @d-pend... :)

  • I loved this poem that challenges my logic. I think the very reason this poem exists is to explode the left side of my brain. So many contradictions: "Motionless" and "wavelength", "Grey" and "rainbow", "body discards" and "infinite". Then finally the big one that gives me the mental collapse: "The summit... is the foothills."

  • We sit still and listen to what could not be perceived. Finally we achieve the state of enlightenment. There on the summit we come to the great perception that we know nothing.

  • Wonderful!! This is my life as a father, husband, teacher, blogger, friend and follower of Christ. Just when I am so ecstatic to reach a new height I come to realize I am just starting. Epiphimy of humiliation!

Enjoy the journey my friend ^-^

Great poem.. I didn't really like literature in school but this is a masterpiece. and thanks for the analysis without which I wouldn't have understood the poem 😂
Please follow me and also check my blog. Thanks

Good stuff. Poetry is hard for me to understand sometimes. It takes time to digest and it's usually days later, or even experiences later when I finally have the ahh haa moment. But your describing a few lines and the general prose helped.

Yeah, I know what you mean. Glad you got something out of the explanation. Thanks for dropping by @drpuffnstuff

"what we thought was the summit of perfection is only the foothills of a higher density of wholeness." This to me is becoming a greater truth with each unfolding moment in time. Great work as usual my friend!

@d-pend, Such a powerful poem indeed. Probably being excellent spiritual concept. Look at..Your introducing style..Its more stunning and more tunes gave me. Superb graphical drawing included here. Looks these content- "Proliferation must go on" this is serious one. Its deeply meaningful. Go your inside heart deeply. Think what's the meaning here.
That's powerful meditation story. Also long discussion title.

Its nice stuff. Coolest maybe harder to understand what's a content here.
Not a simply content. I try to understand spend more times because I loved your poems and blogs. Appreciated writing @d-pend.
Nice combination and sometimes your poem be helpful for resolve stress and provide our brain. If we think much brain will be work and find any problem.
Peoples know if our brain better working in life, no worries to change our life journey for success way.

Again i say Great Work ... i have really no words to tell u .. i am just wake up from the bed .. and i saw your post .. what a great poetry and photography . Wow .. Heart touching .. Nothing to say .. Superb Work ..

Good explanation of the words expressed in the poem, you see that you are a lover of good poetry.

Nice. You get an upvote. I do freestyle raps. Daily. Check my page out.

Who am I to disagree? ;)

I'm really fascinated to see your writing. This is really a great poem. I always like your writing.And the pictures given on your post are very attractive.Thanks lot you for shearing these with us.And i always with you @d-pend. all the best.I have given your post to upvote.

Many many thanks my dear friend @d-pend

Beautiful poem I loved it. You have a lot of talent @d-pend.

its really beautifull @d-pend . This summit is made of mist ??

Excellent post, thanks for sharing

Nice poem mate

very nice post friend

Nice work, keep it up!

This is amazing ! Beautiful poem my friend !!

The mist these days is very convincing.

I love the idea to do a poetic analysis of all your stanzas it gives the ordinary mind an idea of what you propose and interprete in a beautiful piece such as these, this is so amazing my friend,
Keep it up and doing

peaceful scenery

Whether you are a poetic?
Only great poet that can create a meaningful poem ...
You are indeed very good @ d-pend

What is the body? What is the mind? What is the soul? Are questions I asked after reading this piece. Is the body separate and apart from the infinite? Or is it merely apart of it?

This thing called consciousness never ceases to baffle me. In a good way.

That said @d-pend, your words dance and your stanzas mesmerize. If these words don't make sense, it's because I am in a swoon. Thumbs up.

Take a bow Ladies & Gentlemen another Great Poem is written by @d-pend <3

To be very honest i have read English Poetry only in English Syllabus Books including W.H.Davies, Julia Carney and a few others. Actually i read most of the poetry in my Native Language "URDU"

For this amazing poem i had to go dictionary to check the meanings of the tough & deep vocabulary which @d-pend used in it's poem. Isn't it show the caliber of this Great Mind Guys? In fact it does for sure :)

What an amazing lines with great Message

On the crest of its grey rainbow
My body discards itself and
Chooses the infinite.

Thank you so much Mr. Daniel Pendergraft for writing an amazing piece of Art <3

Bravo! great Job done My Great Friend
Stay Blessed <3 <3

In high school I used to go to philosophy classes and native language. My philosophy teacher was a man who got tired or did you delight, that about how was his day. He teach us always about what could be human brains, why we live and whysomething it's not illusions or an illusion. But the most shocking phrase which I was told by a teacher ... has been told of my native language teacher: "if what we are doing now is an illusion and that when we sleep is actually the truth?"...

Irina V.

beautiful
Upvoted!!

I love how you explain your words , wonderful poem Daniel!❤️

"A person of great virtue is like the flowing water.
Water benefits all things and contends not with them.
It puts itself in a place that no one wishes to be and thus is closest to Tao.
A virtuous person is like water which adapts itself to the perfect place.
His mind is like the deep water that is calm and peaceful.
His heart is kind like water that benefits all.
His words are sincere like the constant flow of water.
His governing is natural without desire which is like the softness of water that penetrates through
hard rocks.
His work is of talent like the free flow of water.
His movement is of right timing like water that flows smoothly.
A virtuous person never forces his way and hence will not make faults."
~Lao Tzu

Do you have a mirror in your enviroment? Well look at yourself, what do you see?
You might say yourself, well not quiet... what you see is the reflection of you a billionth of a second ago.
The same way reality is, you see what was, you are still creating the now and what will be the past.
Jail-Mirror-Optical-Illusion.jpg

Your vocabulary is on another level, I always stumble upon new words, The first image is very fitting. Great poem and as always thought-provoking, I once had a lucid dream and in it, I realized that much like in conscious life freedom is an illusion. Also your breakdowns are a great edition.

Bravo a most excellent piece, one is reminded most forcibly of the romanticism and vision of my dear friend Mr Wordsworth. Oh to relive those days wandering in solitude amongst the brier and daffodils my head in the clouds and my soul free from the torment I now endure. Keep up the good work

You had me at your aphoristic title 'This summit is made of mist', Daniel.

A poem for the initiated, who have experienced this placeless place where words and self cannot reach - a mystical state that cannot be earned, but is mysteriously granted. I think by association of two quotations, one by Nietzsche:

“It is the stillest words that bring on the storm. Thoughts that come on doves' feet guide the world."

Another by Yeats:

“We can make our minds so like still water that beings gather about us that they may see, it may be, their own images, and so live for a moment with a clearer, perhaps even with a fiercer life because of our quiet.”

Thank you, for sharing your stillest words with us alongside exquisite art, as a reminder that this region of the soul & human possibility is ours, too.

To aspire to this capital of spiritual riches precludes violence in thought, words and deep... which is why we must, at least, try to get there.

Carry on walking in Beauty, and have a blessed day, pilgrim _/|_

100% as always :) I too appreciated the notes. Thanks!

"guarantees vanish= vailed in mist"
will you explain in terms of why you give the mean of guarantees vanish= vailed in mist?
I think it is difficult to understand, because the parable in a poem there are judgments.
Thank you for this @d-pend

Wow! Just wow! 😍 I’m a hopeless writer and i write some poetries too. I’d love that you’ll read those and give some critics. Hehe thank you.

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 8.42$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

You are a true master at your craft and I can learn so much from you just from your posts. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, thank you, thank you, thank you!

This is the most calming thing I've read today. :')

"The summit of petrified awareness" ain't that the truth. Loved it.