eSports for Hive

in #esports4 years ago

esports.jpg

source

Why isn't this a thing yet???

pageBreak.png

So I was thinking of ways that I could get more engagement and interaction here on the Hive Blockchain and I started thinking about some of the communities that I am involved in. Outside of OCD, I am involved in the photography communities and the gaming community.

I already have my Photography Lovers Community, and @acidyo and I just started a new Manipulation Station Community that focuses on photo manipulation. But I wanted to get more involved with the gaming community. One thing I have noticed here on Hive is that people like to enter contests and win Hive, so I figured, why not figure a way to incorporate eSports into the Hive blockchain?

There are several things that could hold this type of thing back from succeeding. The main one being participation. With eSports, it would require the gamers to be on at the same time and to have access to the same games. Cross-platform could also be an issue, because we have a lot of users that only have mobile devices, or they have computers with limited specs, which may not be able to run a lot of the different games.

apexfeaturedimage16x9.jpg.adapt.crop191x100.1200w.jpg

source

We also run into the fact that the games themselves could be a hurdle for some potential participants. I would like to keep the cost of the games free so that we would be able to get the most participants. Games like Apex Legends, DOTA, and those types of games would be perfect for this type of thing.

Dota2scaled11600x901.jpg

source

So my questions to everyone are:

  1. Are you interested in competing in eSports here on the Hive Blockchain?

  2. What games would you like to see in the eSports Tournaments?

  3. Would you participate only if it was a free entry for a smaller prize pool, or would you be willing to participate if you have to pay a few Hive with a chance to have a much larger prize pool?

  4. Would you buy a game to participate, or would you prefer the free to play games?

I think that eSports here on Hive could be massive, not only for engagement, but for onboarding as well because it would require all participants to have a Hive account. I have always thought that gaming was meant for the blockchain, and Hive is the perfect platform to be hosting this type of stuff. We could even stream the events right from @threespeak. We have all of the tools to make this successful, we just need interest from the community to make it happen.

Sort:  

Sounds like a brilliant idea! For me, I would probably prefer free to play games, hopefully available on Xbox (and cross platform like you said) since I don’t have a gaming rig.

Although paying to compete would likely attract a lot of interest, I would rather play for a chance to win (even small prizes are awesome, winning is winning 🤩🤑).

I don’t see why we don’t have basic games like a Bejeweled clone or similar built on and interacting with the chain, but gamers are already the types to be comfortable with digital assets and I think esports could really spark added interest in Hive.

!BEER

I think a game on windows that allows cross platform with Xbox would be awesome.

As far as games like Bejeweled, it would be cool to see games built on Hive, but I think most people only play games if there is a return of some sort, which I think it kind of dumb. I would rather play a game that is fun and not one that turns into a job trying to get a return on. We could have a free game built on Hive that you spend tokens to get cosmetic stuff and at the same time keep it from pay to win, because pay to win games are the only types of games we have.

First of all, this initiative is very good. A few days ago I was wondering why there wasn't something like that in hive.

  1. If I am interested in competing, it would be wonderful and fun, a dream come true. Although if it is true that there is a limitation which is my computer.

  2. Well there are some great games that don't need a computer as demanding as Valorant or League of Legends, it would be nice to incorporate them. There is also Tft which is a lot of fun and for card lovers the League of Runaterra. All of the above are from Riot and are games that would not be bad for competition. Obviously there are a lot of other games. And well I couldn't forget the crown jewel, Idle Farming Empire is the best of all, a game that should be incorporated. 😅😂

  3. I would participate in both. If it's free, fine. If I have to pay, I'd pay too. I guess the amount to pay wouldn't be too high.

  4. Buying the game is quite difficult unless it's really worth it or very cheap. At this point I prefer the free games so they are available to everyone.

Ya, I think the most important aspect of this whole idea is to make it as accessible to those that want to participate.

Please email us at [email protected]. Would love to discuss this further with you. GAME Credits is actively developing a blockchain Esports platform + gamer sponsorships, and I'd like to discuss potential collaboration to see if there's a way to make Hive part of that vision.

Thanks!

-Zack

Hell ya. I will email you in a bit. If you are on discord, you can reach me at derangedvisions#6969

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @definethedollar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

lA VERDAD AMIGO ME PARECE MUY INTERSANTE TU INICIATIVA Y TAMBIEN ES MUY EXPLICITA, GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR,TE DEJO MI VOTO.

I doubt there are enough players here to have something like this on an ongoing basis. What I think could be a great onboarding initiative is having Hive host online tournaments with prizes for non-Hive players.

We may not have enough right now, but I think gaming is one of the things that could bring in a lot of people to the blockchain.

Are you interested in competing in eSports here on the Hive Blockchain?

Yes and I think this would be an excellent onboarding tool for @vimm and @threespeak.

What games would you like to see in the eSports Tournaments?

I think Fortnite, Apex or Call of Duty would be good mainstream tools. That being said it'd be cool if a smaller indie game wanted to partner for exposure on their game especially if that was a free to play game.

Would you participate only if it was a free entry for a smaller prize pool, or would you be willing to participate if you have to pay a few Hive with a chance to have a much larger prize pool?

I'd prefer free to play. I think it will bring in more new users if they just sign up to get in.

Would you buy a game to participate, or would you prefer the free to play games?

I'd prefer a free to play for same reasons as above. I would debate buying if I thought it would be well adopted and have a good turn out.

I forgot about the new Call of Duty Warzone. The idea for an indie game is pretty cool.

Yeah I'd definitely enjoy playing some random game if they'd be up to sending some sponsor funds. It'd be cool if they funded their game plus provide some funds for a regular set of more consumer based games that we could draw people in for.

Posted using Dapplr

Damn apex, one day I was against 3 kill 2, I had the golden armor and I lost when the world closed -.- stop playing it hahaha

You'll do anything to get to play games! 😂

Its a great Idea and there are a few games that would be suitable.

COD, Sea of thieves, Apex legends (I think this is cross play) and probably a load more. GTA, is that cross play?

Believe it or not I still haven't built a gaming pc. LOL, I have all the components bar chassis and cooling but just haven't had the time to do anything with them!