Paulo Coelho's Manuscript Found in Accra: My Thoughts

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

image

I'm not a fan of Paulo Coelho. But a friend of mine pushed me to read even just a few pages of this book, but to my surprise, I finished it in one sitting. (Although I skipped a few, no, a lot of pages just to finish it.) Lol. The good news is, I had a lot of introspection after.

This is the second book of Paulo that I was able to finish, after The Alchemist. There's a lot of wisdom in this book, but there were also statements that I did not agree on.

Nevertheless, I'll be sharing some of my favorite lines from the book and those that I found significant and generally true.

~ "For those who are not frightened by the solitude, everything will have a different taste.

In solitude, they will discover the love that might otherwise arrive unnoticed.

In solitude, they will understand and respect the love that left them.

In solitude, they will be able to decide whether it is worth asking that lost love to come back or if they should simply let it go and set off along a new path.

In solitude, they will learn that saying ‘No’ does not always show a lack of generosity and that saying ‘Yes’ is not always a virtue.

And those who are alone at this moment, need never be frightened by the words of the devil: 'You’re wasting your time.'

Or by the chief demon’s even more potent words: ‘No one cares about you.'

The Divine Energy is listening to us when we speak to other people, but also when we are still and silent and able to accept solitude as a blessing.

And when we achieve that harmony, we receive more than we asked for."

~ "Scars speak more loudly than the sword that caused them."

~ "A life is never useless. Each soul that came down to Earth is here for a reason."

~ "Walk neither faster nor slower than your own soul. Because it is your soul that will teach you the usefulness of each step you take."

Will I recommend this book? Yes, for the life lessons it taught.

But there are way better books with similar theme and lessons as this one such as Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet or my all time favorite book The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. (You're welcome! 😉)

Loves, may the lines above help you reflect and contemplate about life. Good night!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq