eSteem - Android v1.4.5, Schedule posts, Bandwidth saver, language, improvements

in #esteem7 years ago (edited)


We are pleased to announce next release of eSteem mobile. This release has some major changes as well as number of bug fixes, performance improvements. If you have reported any issue, please review them and let us know if you still have them. For full details of the changelog and new changes, please read below.

What's eSteem

For those who find eSteem related post first time and don't know what eSteem is: It is mobile and desktop application for Steem! eSteem is offering some of the unique features (Bookmarking, Post Drafts, Image upload/capture, Personal Gallery, Notifications, many more) for mobile users! Evolution of eSteem desktop app is under development.

eSteem supports multi-currency where you can see post rewards in any currency you like (BTC, USD, EUR, RUB, GBP, JPY, KRW, INR, CNY etc.), multi-language (35+) where you can use app in any language you are familiar with, multi-account where you can add more than one account and easily change between accounts, multi-chain where you can use both Steem and Golos chains, multi-notifications where you can get notification for your multiple accounts for following activities Vote, Follow, Unfollow, Mention, Comment, Reblog, Scheduled post publish, etc!

Check out this blog @good-karma for more related posts and latest announcements.

What's new

  • Schedule posts - you can now schedule posts through eSteem. This feature requires permission of posting on your behalf by adding esteemapp account into your posting authority. To allow permission you should be logged in with your main password or have posting and active private key during advanced login. This feature is only available for Steem users (not Golos). You can move scheduled post it to draft then reedit or reschedule or remove scheduled posts from Schedules page from left side menu.
  • Push Notification when scheduled post has been published.
  • Android permission fix - when you download images from posts some Android devices didn't get proper permission, that issue is now fixed.
  • Mute and Unmute feature - initial features implemented, expect more improvements with future releases.
  • Bandwidth saver - you can find this feature on Settings page, which gives you control over your internet usage. You can choose to download images or disable them by default. This way you can tap on image placer to download individual images if you want.
  • Nsfw filter improved - dark overlay replaced with image now all images are replaced with placeholder when you disable nsfw content. Expect more improvements to handle nsfw text filter in future releases.
  • Beneficiary reward changed from 1 to 5% after initial 30 days period.
  • Finnish language added
  • Thai language added
  • Urdu Pakistani language added
  • Bosnian language added
  • Korean language added
  • Hindi language added
  • Header buttons spacing adjusted
  • Fixed night mode coloring on some pages
  • Fixed youtube embedding and sizing issues
  • Error message handled better
  • Comment fetching fixed
  • Voting, unvoting fixed
  • Facebook and other image link markdown fixed
  • Various bugs and performance improvements

Screenshots


Google Play - Android - v1.4.5 AppStore - iOS (iPhone, iPad) - v1.4.4
Get eSteem on Google Play Get eSteem on AppStore

Working to get this version available for iOS users as well.

We appreciate reviews and feedbacks on Apple AppStore and Google Playstore as well as ProductHunt.

If you have suggestions or found a bug, please report them here with comments or on Github and we will work on them as soon as we can.


vote witness good-karma

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

AMAZING progress, I keep thinking esteem will be adopted as the official app of Steemit Inc.

Thank you Craig for the compliment... :)

I am sure there will be many mobile apps on top of Steem soon, but happy to be the first! And with eSteem desktop and continuous development of mobile app, eSteem will contribute to the user growth and bring more utilities, like marketplace, exchange, entertainment, etc...

If I was going to develop a mobile app, and first looked at esteem, I would feel intimidated, and see 1 year of work ahead of me just to reach where esteem is now, and by that time esteem will be 2 more years ahead in development, you're a mad scientist :)

He is a Elon Musk on Steemit @craig-grant😊.....check my non-techy post Becoming Sandy Wexler at your free time boss!

Thank you very much for this post.
I have followed and upvoted, please do the same thing for me to help each other.

I am just getting on board with it now. I am a relay user for reddit. I hope esteem is as good as it sounds!

Keep up the good work @good-karma! You're doing a great job! i'm enjoying my experience using eSteem app and recommending it to my friends! :)

Appreciate the comment brother! Glad that eSteem is helping with your experience... :)

Indeed! Especially since my friends are signing up ive been recommending esteem all the time! :)

Looking better and better every step of the way! Thanks for sharing the updates and namaste :)

Namaste Eric! 🙏

How can anyone possible type their unwieldy Steem password into their phone? Serious question! Is there a work-around for this?

There is, check out this post for more details. You can login with Advanced option.

Thank you, i appreciate the help. @ironshield

Yeap that's how I use it... Logged in once and that was it...I don't quite understand there while complicated password thing though

Congratulations @good-karma!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 2 with 737 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 2 with 140 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 1350,7

Advanced login does not work. I scan my post QR, active QR, enter my username and it says the password is incorrect

Advanced login has 2 password fields, one for private posting key and one for private active key. Please make sure to scan accordingly, if it still doesn't work... Could you please share screenshot of the error message? Thank you!

I love the app and for me is the best and it will get better and I believe it will be just like @craig-grant says.

Looks like steemit has become more great and exciting through this app, I didn't knew there was an app for steemit, I was Using it in google chrome till now, but after reading this, I will download It and enjoy steemit more as It looks like the app is packed up with a lot of features, just I want one more feature If it is in your hand to split the blog post and resteemed posts so that I can resteem more posts without any doubt. Great work there. Resteeming this post.

Sure, it is possible. I will add this to next release todo list ;)

@good-karma Thank You 4 Your work... I'm 9 days new but I will be a witness 4 You as soon as I figure out how to do it. Thanks again @good-karma

UpVoted, Resteemed & Following for 6 days... please consider following me.

           ~~~ STEEM On !!! ~~~

Finally! I'm downloading this app right now. I will let you know how the Urdu translation holds up. Also waiting for that desktop app!

Great job, keep up the good work.

Good work guys! Great update!

Typing on it now. More snappier then the previous build I was using. Postings would hang and top of the feed would be blank now it's smooth! Thanks again for working so hard on building this app!

Could the schedule a post feature allow upload of a text file? Is that a possible improvement? Love the way we will be able to embargo content with this!

Yeah, It is possible although on mobile you rarely work with text files but for desktop version of app it makes more sense... Would you use upload file from your mobile ?

Only until the desktop version had the feature! (Because I am not aware of any other way to 'schedule a post' ) :) Thanks for the reply!

Correct me if I am wrong, but didn't the steemit blog said something about a mobile app in their 2017 marketing roadmap post? I would not understand if they put effort in their own mobile app as we already have a pretty great mobile app called esteem 👌

Hello brother @good-karma, This is a good app for Android smartphone, but I have a similar complaint @curiesea. Because im use xioumi smartphone note 4, maybe this complaint because I use a smartphone that is low quality. So I think that, for the latest update of Android esteem, to be suspect for all smartphone models. Thanks for attention!!!

Hello @foways, Can you try to restart app, it helped for some users? Also are you using latest version, please check Google PlayStore?!

Looks great!
I am posting this comment from my android on eStreem right now and I couldn't expect any better.
Thanks

감사합니다. 굳 카르마.
나는 이스팀앱에서 스팀과 스팀달러 받기 기능이 지원되었으면 좋겠습니다.
스팀 받기 기능이 지원된다면 이스팀은 개인간 상거래의 결재앱으로 작동할수 있습니다.

Thank you. Good karma.
I would like to have the ability to receive Steem and Steem Dollars from the Is esteem App.
If Steem Receiving is supported,esteem app can act as a payment app for inter-personal commerce transactions.

Hey @leesunmoo!
Of course, now we have Transfer page. I think we can also implement request payment feature, need to think some details on how it would be really helpful. Perhaps have notification when someone request payment and also have notification when someone sends payment?!

제가 생각하는 것은 다음과 같습니다.
지불요청기능은 상거래를 위한 기능입니다.
대면거래입니다.
상인이 5000krw 를 청구하면 상인의 이스팀 지갑 계정에 5000krw에 해당하는 스팀(예,5.2스팀) 또는 스팀달러(예,4.2스팀달러)를 큐알코드를 나타내줍니다.
소비자는 상인의 큐알코드를 인식하고 지불합니다.
blockpay 같은 사용자 환경이면 된다고 생각합니다.

What I think is:
The payment request function is a function for commerce.
It is a face-to-face transaction.
If the merchant charges 5000krw, the merchant's wager account will show a wager of 5000krw of steem (for example, 5.2 steem) or steem dollars (for example, 4.2 steem dollars).
The consumer recognizes and pays the merchant's wake QR code.
I think it can be user environment like blockpay.

Yes you are right 👍, if merchant wants to accept Steem and Steem dollar, it would be easy, but usually they want traditional cash/money, for that we will need gateways. Btw, Blockpay integration still works on eSteem, you can pay with eSteem if merchant is using Blockpay. :)

Genial, felicidades por esto! Ahora podemos compartir con la comunidad de Steemit desde cualquier parte y en cualquier momento.

Thanks for all the hard work you've established so far. I look forward to Future versions. Unfortunately my pixel doesn't work too well with your app. :(

This app helps with exposure though. Keep on going!

Hi @jubedube, thanks for your comment! Can you elaborate on what do you mean by pixel, please?

Sorry, referring to my Google pixel phone. Specific issues I am having are unable to upvote, unable to post comments. I am able to view stuff fine, but I didn't use it for too long. It uses Android OS.

Oh I see pixel is device name 😊, have you updated app or was it fresh install?

Fresh install

I see, when you get chance please feel free to make suggestions and bug reports here or to our github so we can improve with next releases 😉

Okay, I'll look into the app further and see if I can replicate errors.

Is the bandwidth saver on the iphone version? That would really help! I sometimes find myself in low cell connectivity areas.

This release is about Android, but in few days it will be available for iOS users...

I've been using it for a few weeks and it's really nice. Only thing that doesn't work for me are error messages when replying and upvoting. I haven't tried to post a blog post from my phone, usually do that complex stuff on the PC.
The update hasn't fixed the inability to upvote / reply for me.

Thanks for comment! What error have you received when voting and replying with this new version? Perhaps you can help us identify the issue, what happens when you try to vote, device version would also help...

Thanks! I just tried to upvote your reply, made a screenshot of the error message. After that I tried to post that screenshot as a reply, made a screenshot of that error message too. Uploading from PC now:
Screenshot_20170527-205017.pngScreenshot_20170527-204810.png

That's indeed unexpected and strange error. Thanks for following up, one more question, how have you logged in, with your main password or posting private key through Advanced login option?

I got the same problem, logged in with short password; How do you log out ???

You can log out from menu under your reputation there is extra menu, once you click/tap on it, it will open extra menu options, like Profile, Follow, etc and bottom you can find Logout option, let me know if you could find it...

Yes I found it, thank you; So you have to log in with your active key to be active !

I don't know anymore. How do I find out? I just forced the app to stop, started again, but didn't have to login again.

You can try to log out and login back to see if issue is resolved.

I restarted the phone, started the app again but didn't need to login again, weird. Still the same:
Screenshot_20170527-212619.png

does it work with android 4.0?

Yes it should, although not sure about performance for older devices but we do support them, try it out and let us know 😉

Nice! good to know there's a mobile app for Steem. Will make life much easier while out of house/office. Thanks for letting us know.

Thanks! I have it on my ipad for now but I have problems with it not being able to log me in. I will try the new Android version on my phone.

A quick update: It works fantastically well on Android and I realized what I did wrong trying to log in on my ipad: I tried entering the @ in front of my username. Oops 😜 May there be a way to filter out the @ if somebody enters it by mistake? Just a suggestion 👍

Great with improved features👍 I have been using eSteem app alot and its great! Keep up the great work. Full Steem Ahead!
Best regards,
André

Hope this new version solves the upvote and comment problem my 1.4.4 experience "broadcast error."

Yes, it should. Please let me know if it doesn't. Also error messages are handled better, you will get more reasonable message if you receive error.

Great work!
I downloaded it yesterday and did have a few issues though. Any time I try posting something I get "broadcast error"

Please try new version if you see available update on Google Play. It should solve that issue, if not, let me know... ;)

Sure, thanks!

I just updated the esteem mobile version. Im one of steemian who is faithful with this app. You've worked hard step by step to satisfy all Steemit users especially those using Steemit on their smartphone. I really appreciate and appreciate your hard work. Thank you so much @ good-karma.

OHHH MAN this is what i was just asking myself the other day I hope someone makes a scheduled posts!!!!

esteem app looks truly incredible ... with some advanced features makes it even more user friendly. esteem ROCKS!

There are 2 pages
Pages