Should we celebrate independence?

in #esteem6 years ago

Well well well today marks a very special day in the History of Nigeria and Africa at large. It mark the day Nigeria gained independence as a country from the Bristish 58years ago and still counting.

image
image source

Unlike some of my previous post, wait do I say some? well I mean most of my previous posts I'd probably be of a different opinion about all the independence scam but I'll rather take a chill today and let's pat ourselves on the back a little.

Yeah I know we have our challenges as a country, I mean what country doesn't? But in all we are still here if for nothing that should count for something. We have grown as a Country and as a nation over the years and we deserve to be celebrated. This we have a lot of political Hassels here and there and its really something to be bothered about especially as we approach the 2019 presidential election and there been a few stunts pulled in the just concluded governorship elections in ekiti and the recent one in Osun state which has gotten bad reviews both nationally and internationally. But that's not the reasons for my writing today I want to take out time to congratulate all Nigerians who has believe and still believes in the Nigerian dream. Everyone who has struggled and worked hard to help move this country to where it is today. We sure are not where we want to but we will get there when we first clean our house. Trust me it still stinks.

So on this "great day" how ever you choose to spend it😊 weather in your house with family, out with friends, or to the stadium to enjoy the good old celebration however you choose to don't forget to put "Nigeria" in prayers cause we do need some.

By now I should congratulate every true Nigerian who still believes, well keep believing too... But just believing isn't enough. Do something! well I'll wish you a happy independence day when we get one, for now You just enjoy your day.

Thanks for reading
@josefpius handwriting

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.