Tree Tuesday

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I've been posting pictures of trees for #treetuesday long before Steem existed, so it would just seem odd to let the day go by with out a tree!

This is an edited version of the big old shag bark hickory tree that stands at the end of my neighbors driveway. The vine that is growing up it is Virginia creeper. The hickory nuts must be starting to fall because I have seen squirrels and chipmunks munching on them in the yard.

image

Hickory nuts often have little white worms in them. The best way to deal with that if you want to gather the nuts and shell them is to put them in the freezer before you crack them, so that the worms die and you're not surprised by the little white wiggly things when you crack the nuts open.

Posted with eSteem



Enter your chair shadow photo here!

Shadow Photo Contest Round 34-Chair Shadows

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or eSteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use #esteem as one of your tags, post original content and write at least 50 words for the possibility of an upvote from @good-karma !

Posted with eSteem

image

>

Sort:  

What an interesting tree! Love the edits!

Thanks, luv! It was a boring picture without the edits! I like being able to edit those kind of pictures and turn it into something that I don't mind posting here.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow Beautiful.!

Lovely shot......my best friend

Big tree

It is big, especially for a Hickory.

Hickory tree is a big old tree bark that most people like because wood is very good and resistant, can be used as a product that can be used as a place of residence, that is home. Your post @Melinda010100 is amazing.

Thanks. Hickory is often used for smoking meat, like bacon and ham.

Thanks. Hickory is
Often used for smoking meat,
Like bacon and ham.

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It is a great photo of a beautiful tree, which looks like it has many years

I suspect it has been there for a long time!

If I guess it's quite a few years old, it's a pretty big tree... how everything goes with the rain

No rain today, but more thunderstorms are predicted for tomorrow. It is pretty soggy out there!

I saw something on TV about a storm called Gordon

That will not affect my area- it is very far from here, but yes, it is a bad storm.

If I saw it affect areas like Illinois and Louisiana. It's good to know you're far away and hope this storm will not do so much damage

Oh, I just mentioned you to @edgargonzalez to answer questions if he doesn't understand the rules to the shadow contest. As you know, my sentences do not always translate easily!

I know he lives near my house. I always say that if you have doubts ask. Whenever I can help

Thank you! He seems like he is trying very hard here.

Yes I know. It's that Steemit helps us a lot and he has 2 children so he sure has a lot of expenses at home

a large and sturdy tree like your establishment that doesn't forget the previous tree

There are many big old trees in my neighborhood.

it's really amazing if we live around a lot of big trees around.

Beautiful

Thank you!😊

Happy TreeTuesday then, dear Lady Mel ! =))
v1xocblii1.png

Thanks luv! Same to you!!😘❤😘

I'll pass on the wiggly worms lol. What was the name of those mushrooms that grow near you? Another user has something very similar growing in Germany and I forgot the name of them. Check out @astrophoto.kevin's blog. You may be able to help identify them.

Mine were called jack-o'-lanterns. Different from his in that mine grew on the ground not on the tree. I think his are some sort of a shelf mushroom. No mushroom expert though!

image

They look very similar in colour but I agree your ones are not growing on the tree trunk and Kevin's have a different shape too. Mushrooms are fascinating. I used to have a book with them all listed with illustrations. Alas long gone now.
I saw some in the woods today and the temptation to pick them was strong indeed lol

Ok I've got to tell you that little white worms - die or alive - are a non-starter in my house. My wife was off of tomatoes for a whole month after an unfortunate incident with a tomato worm. Great photo and edits on the hickory tree :)

Ha! For Christmas I received a kitchen composting bin from young friends who gave it to me saying 'you are the only person we know who we were certain would love this" it came with a container of red worms. They live in my kitchen and I just fed them a handful of potato peels! My D-i-l is horrified and avoids that corner of the kitchen.

Very unique and rare tree @ melinda010100

Not so rare, but it is one of the larger ones that I know of.

It looks like under water tree :) Great shot my friend.

Greetings

Ha! I had not looked at it like that.....that would be a divers perspective!

Hello! I like photography). Follow)

Good piece of photography, looked like something under water courtesy some very nice edits :) glad am following you in time for this :)
Good day @melinda010100

Gambar tumbuhan yang sangat keren , saya sangat menyukai nya , lovely post

A fascinating tree @melinda010100 and like the one I posted in Tree Tuesday, it is a species I hadn't seen before. I love discovering new things in steemit.

I like the photo, especially the background!

Finally I've managed to buy you a share of steembasicincome and want to say thank you for buying me one. Also have a question and need help to figure out how things are around my shares. How are you keeping track of yours? Because I have no ifdea how many I have. I've been buying them each and every time I got one from a dear friend to return the favor but have never checked how many I have. Can you help me with this?

Thank you so much!😘 But please don't ever feel like it is necessary to buy one for me in return. There is a tracking tool, but the last time I tried to use it it wasn't working. Let me go look.

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your postings @melinda010100 are always good I always want to share your posts and I really like to be friends with you @melinda010100 ..

Wow..Outstanding tree photography.
You've done a lot of good photography. Natural and fresh photography.

Thanks! Probably not natural, with all the editing I did!