Lukaku: Mourinho Consider Me as Sergeant in the Field

in #esteem6 years ago

Since joining Manchester United from Everton last summer, Romelu Lukaku has played in 29 English Premier League matches. Meanwhile, he has also been involved in the creation of 11 goals in his last 11 appearances in all competitions in 2018, with eight goals and three assists.

image

So it is not surprising that Jose Mourinho praised Lukaku. The Portuguese coach said the 24-year-old striker not only focused on scoring but also how to play a part of team unity.
In fact it has made my Luke feel the most important part of the team. He even uses military analogy to illustrate how his role is within the team.
"I think the manager in his mind thinks that I'm like a sergeant on the pitch, and that's strange for the striker, because usually the midfielder, but I always work hard and I'm grateful but in the end I'm a striker and I have to score goals," said Lukaku. from Sky Sports. "He's really good, but I think he knows the mentality of my army.
"I think the level of work I convey to the team is very much, and he knows he can come to me anytime. I will always put the team first in front of myself and that is something I say to him, I say, 'team is the most important thing'.
"The desire to win is bigger than ever since I came to this club, because I always wanted to win and chase the cup. I always say it in front of my personal goals, and he knows that and I think that's the reason why I play all the time. "