You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Change of perspective makes a big difference

in #esteem6 years ago

I really enjoyed reading this post. Thank you for sharing.
I love the combination of clear/simple text and powerful use of images.

It reminded me of two things:

The first is karate. I practiced this for 14 years or so. One important thing was keeping/knowing your maai. This is a concept referring to the space between two opponents in combat; formally, the "engagement distance". The correct maai changes depending on your opponent (does he/she has long legs, what kind of posture, etc.) and the technique you're using (kicking requires a completely different distance in comparison to using your elbow to deliver a punch). Knowing and keeping your maai is a biiiig part of the training, and it's also applicable to a lot more situations than just physical combat.

For example the second thing your post reminded me of. It's an exercise I had to do in group-therapy. It was a sort of guided meditation, using our emotions as a subject. We had to visualize a television. On the screen was a situation/emotion that was really powerful, and also a confronting one (if I remember correctly). Next step was to practice using a imaginary remote control, and by using it, either zooming in on the emotions or zooming out.
The strangest thing happened. I had imagined the emotions would get more intense and confronting by zooming in. Instead I actually felt more relaxed and peaceful getting them closer to me. Seeing and feeling them up close, they were a) less scary than I thought they were (the fear for the fear is often bigger than the thing we actually fear) and b) I felt more capable of dealing with them. This refers to the maai I was talking about earlier. If you want to deal with your emotions (or deliver a punch), you really need to get up and close and personal first ;)

And if you do, everything becomes more fun/interesting/will show its (true) beauty ^^. This is the thing that spoke so much throughout your post. Thank you for reminding me of this <3

Sort:  

Hi, thank you for your reply. That is a very good comparison. I have never practiced karate but always found it fascinating how it is way more than fighting. Your story clearly shows that.

Glad to have you back. Noticed you hadn't posted anything for a while.
I hope you are doing fine.

Jups, it's definitely more than just fighting. Although I do think the amount of philosophy you learn really depends on where you practice karate. My dojo wasn't involved in doing matches for example (just fighting is complicated enough, without having to think or worry about scoring points).
Karate really learned me to see everything (you do) in life as a mirror. It's powerful stuff.

Hihi, thanks! I appreciate this a lot <3