ETH mining for 60 hrs Month on i5 CPU with 4GM RAM

in #eth7 years ago

I'm having problems calculating the approx amount in dollars of potential earnings for above setup . I know its a pittance but would appreciate it if anyone could let me know what the figure would be for 2 hrs a day (with free electricity). I'm guessing it would be around 2USD a month at todays ETH price. Appreciate any advice.

Sort:  

Don't even bother.. you will cook your computer before to long and then have more money to spend on replacing it.

Thanks for response. If I were only using 50% CPU power for one hour a day would that still cook the computer ? Would that make atleast a dollar a month ??

Yes. Sorry but I agree with @amexperts. It's not worth the strain it will have on your hardware.

even for an hour a day at 50% CPU use ?

That, probably not. Honestly though I wouldn't expect to get really far on that. What model i5 is it?

an old HP laptop. I'm about to go to bed, just wanted to ask one more question, hope might find an answer in the morning. I cant find the answer online and cant work out how to properly use the crypto currency calculators . I guess its on the other end of the scale. If you could spend 20m USD on hardware and mined a basket of crypto currencies 24/7 I was told you could make 500k USD a month (assuming electricity was 0.01c per KW/H) . Does that sound about right ? (at today's prices ?) Its sounds to good to be true to me. Would you have any ideas of how much energy that would use ? I had a look online and found some large scale mining operations in China and Iceland (I understand genesis mining has a model of selling hash rates). If a group did invest that amount , with cheap electricity would it be a low risk investment (assuming crypto prices are around the same price + / - 25% .. Appreciate any thoughts.