How I Built My Own Ethereum Mining Rig. With ZERO Prior Experience...

in #ether8 years ago

So I recently fell in love with the crypto currency world.  I have owned some Bicoin over the last couple of years or so, but only in the last few months have I started researching other crypto currencies in the industry. 


Ethereum really caught my attention. It's second to Bitcoin right now, but has a huge growth potential. The recent DAO attack on Ethereum really gave the community a set back, but they are pressing on, and I think that may only make them stronger. 

So I wanted to give some credit to a couple of YouTube members that really helped me learn how to build my own Ethereum mining rig at home. Those two people have the YouTube channel name of  r0b1nuk r0b1nuk and  Guntis Vitolins. 

Please keep in mind that I have absolutely no prior experience in trying to build any kind of computer, mush less mine for any kind of crypto currency. I only did some cloud mining online for Bitcoin and Ethereum. Some of that worked, and some was a waste of money. 

So where did I start?

Well, as cool as it may look to have a streamlined metal mining frame or box to build your mining rig in, that is not what makes you the money. As long as you have a rig that will stay together, and you can have good, cool air flow to your rig, then you will be just fine. Here is a link to a video to make a VERY cheap rig.

I actually just took apart a plastic container set I had that was used for storing misc items. It's not the prettiest looking thing right now, and I apologize for not having a photo, but I could not figure out how to upload it on to this Steemit page. But it is getting good airflow, and hold everything together. 

After lots of research, I determined that I should probably buy my CPU motherboard and hard drive from GPUShack.com. Why?.... Because they will sell you a bundle that will have their EthOS software already installed on the hard drive they send you. So it's literally plug and play, once you have built your rig, connected everything, and then turn it on.

I decided to get the EVGA 750W power supply to power my rig. I planned on starting with just 1 power supply, until I knew I could be successful at building this.

The same applies for the GPU, or graphics cards. I now have 4 more on the way to really boost up my mining hash power, but I started with just 1 at first. The GPU I decided on was the MSI R7 370. One of those R7 370s right now is averaging me about 12.5 mega hash. That is right out of the box, and no overclocking or settings changed. 

I bought several powered USB risers from Amazon, and have read that it's best to use those USB risers. Usually when you assemble your rig, and get any kind of error about a GPU not showing up, then it is more than likely a connection problem to your graphics cards. You will also to buy a very simple and basic power button. It's less than $5 on any website online and you just need the one that is a simple, one click on/off button. 


Finally, I connected my ethernet cable to my rig, and connected my rig to my TV using an HDMI cord. Then I powered on the power supply, and then hit the power on button. And.... IT WORKED!


I was beyond happy when I saw that EthOS screen come up and could see all the code running. Once I had everythign booted up and running. I simply ran the software update for EthOS, and then change my Ether wallet address in the setting and that was it! Now I sit back each day and watch my rig produce new Ether for me daily. Now that I know its working properly. I ordered 4 more GPUs to really crank up my hash power. Some say it's "too late" to start mining for Ethereum. But I do't think it is. If you get in now and start mining for it, the value may raise a lot over time and it will make it worth it.


Thanks for checking out this post. Steemers, feel free to show some love on this post, and if you have any questions or comments, please post them below. Thanks! 



#ethereum #mining #eth #ether #bitcoin #news #howto #cryptocurrency #crypto-news #steem #steemit

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for the post. Very interesting. How much do you think you spent in $ terms on the rig in total?

Upvoted.

Thanks for the comment and upvote.
I spent around $400 for just the basic setup with 1 GPU.
Each GPU there after costed about $165 each.

Thanks.
Will be happy to answer anymore.

That's cool, so how much would you have to spend to get 100Mhs you thunk?

You should build these and sell them. These things always look like bombs though so be careful where you take it lol.

Great, now I am on a list because I said bomb.

Haha. Well I thought about making them. If i put them in a neat little metal frame rig, they would probably sell.
You would easily spend about $1200 to get 100mhs.

But if you buy used and bargain hunt, it could be mush less

Sorry for the late response. You would have to spend at least a couple grand on some solid GPU cards before you can get close to 100 MHS. Thanks for the comment, I for got my Steemit password for the longest time and just not got back on.

Sorry for the late response, I lost my STEEMIT password for a while. I probably spent about $500 to get it up and running. It had low mining power though. Needs more GPUs

Hey chad, thanks for post, that's awesome. :)

Thanks, I appreciate it