My Mining Rigs, Rigs for small , Eth mining

in #ethereum7 years ago

Let me just say today i finally got my last graphics card for my mining rigs. By last one, I mean last one for 3 to 6 months.

Also, with the electricity cost in the summer is Southern California is kinda of high.

My first rig is 3 graphics cards, the R9 390, 380, and RX460. Each of these cards is a little different.

The R9 390 gets 28MH/s on average, 380 runs 22MH/s, and the 460 gets a miniscule 10MH/s on average.

I would have to say getting three of theses in a mid tower case was a bit of a pain. Espcially since the 390 gets insanely got for no reason. I literally have the case side open with a mini external fan blowing on it to keep it cool.
h/s
Besides that the other cards run smooth. The R9380 does need to be overclocked to get the 22MH/s.

I find this an inefficient setup because the 390 creates so much heat and requires an eight pin and 6pin PSUI connector.

The 380 requires on 8 pin and the 460 is a mini card and only needs the MOBO's power.

To get a third card in this rig consisted of needing a PCI riser because, this PC was not originally for mining and so I had to rig this thing kind of janky inside the Drive bays.

Check it out in this pic
IMG_1109.JPG

Luckily!! I can still put the front part of the case on so it doesnt look so ugly.

But for my second rig, I did 3 1070s and 1 1060.

After doing an AMD build, I was suprised at how much more efficient Nvidia cards rans in terms of power consumption and heat.
X

If you're going to mine the new underground algorithm, skunkhash algorithm, Nvidia cards are 10x better.

With overclocking I am able to get each of my Asus GTX 1070s to mine at an average of 31MH/s. Pretty fucking badass in my opinion.

I was also able to undervolt these babies to 95% power so I was able to reduce power and increase my hash power.

No my 1060 is the EVGA Mini
IMG_1116.JPG

Now this guy I was able to overclock and reduce power as well. This card runs very cool and only requires one 6 pin PCI PSU connector. Buenoe Bueno!

Compared to the 1070s which use two 6pin connectors.

This mini card is only able to achieve 19MH/s., which for the price is Meh. I paid $260 after tax. When other 1060s rate up to 22MH/s.

So between this and the R9380, I'd take a 1060 and probably get the Asus version.

Heres an image of my second rig.

IMG_1118.JPG

All in all, I am very happy with these setups, I will definitely be upgrading the other case as well.