You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ethereum Fork: Step-by-Step Guide to Safely Splitting your ETH/ETC

in #ethereum8 years ago (edited)

Thank you Paul for the great breakdown. I was wondering if you (or anyone else) could just give me some quick advice. Im a very active day trader of crypto but my tech side is lacking. I still have my ETH on the genesis block and safely tucked away (off my computer) on the file I got from the ico.
I do have mist 0.7.2 synced to my computer and looking to load up these coins and claim ETC. I looked on gas tracker (with /addr/xxx my eth address xxx after the url) and I get 404 error to my genesis block coins but can see on other address I have it says I have Ether? I guess Im doing it right and that means my genesis block coins have no ETC?? Does anyone know why? Cheers

Sort:  

Not sure if I understand correctly. But first of all if you're using Mist 0.7.2, you're working on the pre-fork chain. However if you have genesis coins and haven't moved them, you most definitely have both ETH and ETC. You can check on etherscan.io for your ETH balance on the forked chain. These should be identical if you haven't moved the ETH around.

You may want to consider moving those coins to a new wallet like Mist sooner rather than later, as the key format has changed since the early days. The keys are safe but in the future you might have an issue finding tools to make importing easy. If you'd like to discuss further, hit me up on twitter @paulszczesny0

Thanks very much paul thats great news, I'll be following your work and consider me a regular upvoter on your good content to come.
Although only being a very small amount of coins you have eased my mind, thnx. Good tip on moving sooner than later too, I was wondering if they may become incompatible someday. I'll be looking more into the above process that you have laid out so well... and follow you on twitter.
Cheers mate.