Dual mining rig ! 401 MH/s Eth and 6200 MH/s Decred with 12 GPUs ! PART I

in #ethereum8 years ago

      Hello everyone, my name is Bogdan and I am from Romania so try to understand my bad english :) ! The reason i made this post is because i want to share with you my rig configuration and setup maybe it will help you somehow or maybe you cand help me to make it even better ! So let me show you first how i chosed to build my rig !

                                             

I chosed to buil my rig on a 4 shelf stand so i can fit 1 motherboard with 6 GPUs on each shelf (i only have 2 shelfs mounted for now ) and i wanted to have bigger space betwen GPUs because high temp. is the biggest problem for them. 


I have 2  air conditioner units mounted in this room (btw. excuse the mess in the room, but no one lived here for a long time, but i will fix it soon) 1 is a 18000 BTU on the wall with extarnal compresor and 1 is 12000 BTU with a built-in compressor and both blow the air toward GPUs.

I have 9 x R9 390 Nitro Sapphire 8GB GPUs with 3 coolers each and i have to tell you 3 coolers GPUs are the best, i manage to keep them betwen 51 and 63 degrees Celsius in full load and overclocked (btw. the temperature in Romania in this period is around 30 - 36 degrees Celsius)! I am able to get 34.1 MH/s on ETH mining  and 511 MH/s on Decred mining (for each card) and i can push a little bit more with the overclock but i realised that the rig is more stable like this.

i have 1 x R9 290 Cuda II Asus 4GB  with 2 coolers and i have to tell you without overclock reaches 75 degrees Celsius (and remeber i have 2 air conditioning units in one room) so i dont recomand you 2 coolers GPUs for mining unless you have great cooling system in the room. I get 27 MH/s on ETH and 425 MH/s on Decreed and i did not overclocked it  because it gets 85 degrees and started to get driver errors (i will replace it with R9 390 saphire soon ) .

 

I have 1 x R9 290x AMD 4GB  with 1 cooler and i am able to get 33 MH/s on ETH and 490 MH/s on Decred. The only problem with this GPU is the cooling system. This cooler type is the worst. It reached 82 degrees Celsius , that was before i added the second air conditionig unit, now it gets around 75 degrees Celsius with overclock. I have 2 options: change the cooler or sell it and get a r9 390 Saphire

and the last GPU is 1 x R9 390 Gigabyte Windforce with 2 coolers. I get 33 MH/s on ETH and 505 MH/s on Decreed, not bad, but same problem with the temp., now is around 68 degrees Celsius with overclock but imagine that my 1200 BTU air conditioner unit blows the air straght towards this GPU and the R9 290x from a less than 1 meter distance ! 

All this being told, i highly recomand the 3  coolers GPUs, the lower temp. the better for GPUs. So with these GPUs i am able to get  401 MH/s Eth on www.dwarfpool.com and 6200 MH/s DCR on www.decredpool.org. If i had 12 x R9 390 Sapphire GPUs  i wold have around 410 MH/s on ETH.

This post is becoming quite long and i must split it into two. So if you want to see the components and the sofwares that i used to get this stats follow me. I will post PART II. Best regards from ROMANIA !


Sort:  

Hows your energy bill?

The RIG consumes around 4 kW/h . In my country that is about 300$ per month !

Time to get some Solar Panels

The good thing is that i am not the one that is paying the electricity ;). Dont ask why...long story :) !

Welcome to our russian pool for max profit http://mole-pool.net
38 mx = 0.23 eth per 24h in dwarfpool
38 mx =0.56 eth per 24h in mole-pool

Very cool, I like what you have done. I'm mining as well but with all sorts of different cards put together. If I knew what I know now about mining I would of bought the same type of cards and not mix them up. I have 1 x R9 295x2 , 2 x R9 MSI 390x , 1 x R9 Saphire Nitro 390 , 1 x HD 7990 , 2 x R9 280 & 1 x HD 7950. Hashing out at 230 m/hs. I don't bother mining dual as the cards get to hot.

Today i will post the second part to show you how i did, but remeber if u dont have a cooling system the GPU will get verry hot . What themperatures you hit now ?

Good points in this post. I was about to post a similair thread. The blockchain is here to stay. No matter what any crypto will do in the upcoming years. I think that's a conclusion we can make by now. Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com Every single coin can be analysed here based on: the team, the product, advisors, community, the business and the business model and much more. See: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Decred#analysis To see the: Decred Report.