Mining rig update... will be mining ethereum. not finished.

in #ethereum7 years ago

Original Post : has a part list...

Got back home from work at about 8pm. Worked on getting the enclosure put together. Needed motherboard, PSU and other hardware for measurements .

Got Windows 10 Pro installed with anniversary update, patched out and ALL drivers installed.

Enclosure:
IMG_4257.JPG

Beast/Beauty of a video card (have 6 in total):
IMG_4260.JPG

Enclosure with everything setup - only one video card installed for now:
IMG_4259.JPG

Tonight I will be configuring mining software, tweaking/over-clocking and should be mining to my wallet.

I will post an update of the process, show what was done and the hashrates.

Thanks everyone for checking my post out. Let me know some things you would change or recommend please.

Sort:  

Awesome setup!

Is there a specific reason you went with Intel instead of AMD for the mobo and processor?

Mobo didn't matter - just needed to be able to put 6 GPUs and went with cheapest CPU because the only thing that matters when mining ethereum is graphics processing. Unlike bitcoin, which uses CPU processing. Hope that answers your question.

Yeah, that was my understanding, and why I asked about Intel vs AMD. AMD is usually a lower cost option for similar quality materials as Intel, which would potentially lower your rig's cost if there was a viable AMD option for the 6 GPUs :)

Thanks for that. I will check it out for my next one. I want to make more. All my certifications are in Microsoft and mainly only ever used Intel, but really no difference in respect to hardware I use (rather use cheaper). Nice to get the cost down though - almost 5 grand CDN. 1 GPU was 610 plus taxes.

BTW. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Good Job!