Scam alert: avoid www.ethgiveaway.org

in #ethereum6 years ago (edited)

Scams are prevalent in the cryptosphere...

I'm just putting this out there to help out my fellow crypto enthusiast out there. As I was roaming around airdrop sites, someone posted a message in the telegram group I was on, can't remember which one, but that doesn't matter, scammers roam around everywhere where people are trying to get free shit. The message asked if anyone wanted free ethereum, which at that point, I knew it was a scam, so I thought I'd troll em' and he ended up private messaging me and sent a message to go to http://www.ethgiveaway.org

So, on the site, it has transactions stating that there were several transactions in the last few hours, so I did my do diligence and headed over to https://www.etherscan.io and took a look at the addresses and there are only 2 transactions and the last transaction was 48 days ago. On the site, the participant addresses are only partial addresses and when you click on them they redirect to a 404 error on the same site. So, me being me, I called out the person and he claimed that it was all tied into a smart contract address and so on. The problem is that on the blockchain, everything is recorded, including smart contracts. 

So, my point here is to let you know, when you see things like this, they are easily verifiable be of the public nature of the blockchain. Please people, be safe out there. I know how easy it is to get carried away when looking at coins, tokens, ICO's airdrops and so on; however, you should always apply safety first. Anytime you are transferring any coin, token, money, etc, always verify your sources.

Donations:
 -  Bitcoin: 1MumHZMQN8D3vALkZVf3xp3CQ79bxbRWmJ
 - Ethereum/ERC20 Token: 0xa89d86bCb961D03D211D0e489083aF7676be5746
 - Waves/HoodToken: 3P8QYzrgNy7Lja6YXi5N3TkshyqX4dufgQG
 - Neo: AKi7J1QymRRbbRFoWk2KurVAZ2VBj9ehQd

#krypto-kajun #bitcoin #ethereum #hoodchain #hoodtoken

Sort:  

Congratulations @kryptokajun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!