Sort:  

I'm going to have to agree with marc on this one here. Great video this thing is backed by major players. I see them wanting ETH to grow.

I am glad you expressed your opinion, and I respect that. The ethereum discussion will bring strong feelings from both sides of an argument. Some will think I am a hater, but I did buy ETH many times to invest in projects built on ethereum because I know I can make money that way. I will not argue against trading Ethereum to make money, in this post I just express what I think will eventually happen to Ethereum. I am human and I could be wrong.

Hell, nothing is guarantee. Watch out for dogecoin though, I feel like it's about to surprise us all now that it's reaching Japan

Dogecoin - what an anomaly...Who says there has to be any business model if you have the volume. Also keeping my eyes on doge to see what happens

very interesting video

one of the best aspect about dogecoin is the decentralization... its spread out, living its own life. But I hardly dare touching it

In the short run, More and more people and corporations are investing in Ethereum because they see the potential in smart contracts and the growth opportunity for other block chain startups to use Ethereum's tech and build products. Dumping 10,000 or 100,000s or even 1 million ethers won't do any harm as this will simply create a opportunity to buy the dip for investors.
Long term view of Ethereum is definitely here to stay, I see ethereum more like IOS ecosystem in the next 2 years.

Dump it where? Who and what can buy that many at a time? What exchange? How would someone cash out 1 million ETH into fiat? None of these scenarios of dumping make any practical sense and are just FUD.

First show how it is possible to dump enough to crash the bubble. Panic sells from day traders and career speculators isn't going to crash the price if it is a bubble unless you believe the vast majority involved in the space are day traders and speculators. I don't think the vast majority of holders will be day traders and speculators.

If millions of people hold ETH for 4-5 years, then the price I would think will be pretty stable. People who buy Bitcoin often buy it and put it in cold storage for years. Some will buy ETH and treat it like a long term lottery ticket and not touch it for 5 years or until they retire. So with that mentality, it will not matter what the price is that day, or that month, as long term holders don't care if it's a bubble or recession as long as the space as a whole is growing.

Even a failed ETH isn't going to go away. It will stick around for 5-10 years with a high market cap in my opinion. It's just if it fails another tech will eventually acquire a higher market cap.

I fairly agree with you Dana, Ethereum is not going anywhere for the next 2 or possibly 5 years as investors are still seeing this as a great tech which can grow significantly. Hence the dumping of large ether as suggested in this video by @majorleaguemarc will provide a great opportunity to buy the dip for long term investors. As I mentioned earlier, I see Ethereum as an IOS / Android app store for block chain startups so it's definitely here to stay!

You make good points. I don't think Ethereum will be #2 when it meets the masses. I think Bitcoin will fade this year to Ethereum. At the same time I see in 2019 and beyond being when Ethereum begins to fade as superior tech begins to hit stride.

But I don't see Ethereum losing it's place overnight just like Bitcoin didn't. It takes years and market cap isn't going to "dump" into something else, something new and experimental. People won't just leave Ethereum just because a better tech exists, it will require Ethereum has technical/political failures like Bitcoin is currently having.

In my opinion the goal shouldn't be to stop Ethereum or to care how much money people make in ETH. What matters is bringing crypto to the masses and expanding the ecosystem, and Ethereum is only one part of a potentially trillion dollar industry. There is enough space for every one of these projects to be in the tens or hundreds of billions.

Look the video - ETH is there to stay - Marc is right.

Nice vid. I'm following. Follow me back for some of my crypto trades/recommendations if you want

Your stated a strong facts:

  • The masses is introduced to blockchain with ETH being number 2.
  • It's hard to change the first impression people get
  • Big companies are backing project on ETH.

Thank you for your insight.

great job in jumping in with your thoughts. I feel the way you do here, but im unsure, still learning, and its a new world of information, other opinions are very important to building the picture.