Why I'm giving away ethereum

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

ether.png

I have currently found out talking about cryptocurrencies, mainly bitcoin to my facebook friends generates hardly any interest. People still think its a scam or a pyramid scheme. I have around 300 friends and yet I think I am the only one who actively uses cryptocurrencies. So I have been thinking and you may think I'm crazy but I'm going to give away around £5 of ethereum to around 20 friends. I don't have a lot, in fact I have only around 1.7 ether.


So why give it away? Firstly yes I am invested in to cryptocurrencies to make money, aren't we all? but for me it goes much deeper than that. I see cryptocurrencies as a philosophy to a world with more freedom and openness, a tool that gives a bit of extra power to the ordinary person. We only have to see what is going on in the world with huge debts, growing inflation and the mass majority of us becoming poorer and this is down to the elite who play monopoly with the monetary system without a care for the consequences.


I believe by me giving away a small amount to people it will awaken their curiosity into the crypto world. If they then start to research and use cryptocurrencies and grasp the philosophy, then they will know there is an alternative to fiat currencies spread the word to their friends and the chain continues. Now I wont be giving it away in cold storage, people will have to set up a cold storage wallet or use something like exodus and send me their public keys. If they do this I know I'm not just sending it to someone who just wants to make a quick buck as they will have to do a small amount of research to set up a wallet.

So what do others think? has anybody done anything similar?

Sort:  

That's awesome man, it's always great to giveback to the community and reach out to people who haven't started with crypto yet, upvoted :)

P.S I have a SBD giveaway happening on my most recent post, check it out for some free SBD ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ
https://steemit.com/steemit/@retrac/my-first-week-on-steemit-or-free-sbd-giveaway

cheers mate. I entered your giveaway and upvoted you, hope it helps you out.

Regardless of the outcome, that it a beautiful gesture, and im sure you will get back more than you give out in the long run :)

thanks, hopefully I can do a small part and help people to gain more freedom in their life and it will benefit all of us.

Great, my address in myEtherwallet: 0x7D922c1b994598aca100AFB8c07194171ed7d21d

Thanks

haha nice try but its to my facebook friends only who haven't entered the cryptocurrency world

Spread the love. Come on. 0x6f2cbb4ae6f27529afe5b414b34933a0570cac36

Ah, but you post it here to get votes and followers? ..... Nice Try

I posted it here to share my experiment because people on steemit understand cryptocurriences. The whole point on this platform is to share blogs get votes and followers.