How many of you are Crypto Currency Miners Here on Steemit.com? What is your Mining Story/History?

in #ethereum7 years ago

As a Crypto Currency Miner I am always curious of how many other Crypto Miners are here on Steemit.com. If you started mining back in the early days mining bitcoin and saved any of those coins without losing them, then you are for sure in great shape and probably a multi millionaire by now. Or, if you were lucky enough to understand or were introduced to how crypto coins were made, (mined), and started mining alt coins like even ETH just a year ago and were able to pay your electric bill and hold onto your coins that were mined you are also in great shape and probably worth hundreds of thousands of dollars or even millions of dollars by now.
As for me i only heard of Bitcoin about four years ago bought a small amount and then held onto it for three more years until i started hearing how the coins were mined. I was like wtf, mined, why didn't anyone ever tell me how these coins were being mined or made or come into existence. I have been on the internet for over 25 years and have always thought that i was keeping up on the latest tech, how could i have missed this Crypto Mining of Bitcoin and other Alt Coins until about 6 months ago???
Well once i heard about mining I was hooked and jumped head first into it. i watched every mining video i could find, read all kinds of mining articles about how coins were being mined, the best way to mine them and the best and most optimal equipment being used to mine these precious alt coins.
I finally decided to start buying some gpu's. I started with 3 AMX RX 480 8gb cards and had them running on two different desktop pc's and wow it was so cool.. well to me anyways. Next while those gpu's were mining coins mainly off of nicehash.com, which i was mining eth and getting paid in btc, I started to research about 6 gpu mining rigs. Again i read and watched every article and video i could cram into my brain.
Finally i decided on what kind of mining rig frame i would buy off of ebay, a wooden cheap ass mining rig about $50 including shipping and all the other equipment as in mother board, gpu's, ssd, memory, processor, what screws i would use, power switch button, powered risers, power supplies, Power surge protector, Watt meter readers, 10awg extention cords, cat 5e cords, hdmi cords, mobile pc monitor, mouse, keyboard, downloading all the apps and programs and miner apps that i would need and any other apps that would enhance or make my mining rigs more powerful and stable.
After my first mining rig frame I knew i had to build them from then on. I took the model adjusted it modified it to fit my gpu's as even the original one needed to be refitted to fit my gpu's, and then went down to home depot and bought all of the materials to build my own. I took the general measurements of the original rig and adjusted some of the measurements to make sure my gpu's would stay even cooler. Once i bought my supplies for my wooden mining rigs the total cost per rig came out to about $12. That is a $38 savings over the original rig I had bought off of ebay and every dollar i saved was a dollar i didn't have to mine to break even or so that was my thinking here.
I built my first rig and the built two more and then after getting the to run consistently for 24/7 with only resets every day or few days i built a few more rigs then i had to wait as supplies were hard to find mainly the gpu's. Well all in all i built a total of 13-6 gpu mining rigs and have had them running for the past few months.
The heat here in Las Vegas has been the hottest on record this summer so far and has me kind of worred about how well these mining rigs will hold out. Well i thought i built them to last and i made sure to set them up so they would have minimal heat and run at optimal levels, and so far out of 80 gpu's only one was defective and it was defective from the time i received it. Also out of 27 power supplies also one was bad from the start not something that over heated. Out of 82 risers i have only replaced 4 so far. Out of 14 ssd's only one was defective from the start not something that went out from me using it.
I have noticed that some of my mining rigs and cards get tempermental some days and i have to figure out why and just make adjustments. You may ask what adjustments i had to make, well here they are.
If your card won't be recognized by trixx 3.0 my gpu overclocking app, then just change the gpu's powered riser. If your cards are not stable and you have already downclocked them from where you had them, uninstall the gpu drivers and the reinstall them. If trixx seems to be acting up and the gpu's are not showing up with their trixx setting then uninstall trixx and reinstall it. I use Claymore's miners so sometimes different versions work better than others. I have found that certain gpu's need to have their fans set higher than 50% to keep their temps under 75c. I can replace fans but right now i can't find any replacement gpu's so keeping the fans settings higher will save my gpu's and keep my miners running efficiently.
If a certain mining pool is making your rigs unstable then change mining pool's. There are so many variables that will make your mining rigs run unstable, and you need to be aware of this. Once all of your Windows 10 updates have been uploaded then turn them off and also turn off any GPU app updates. Any kind of auto update will make your rigs unstable, shut them off and might even shut them down permanently forcing you to reinstall Windows 10.
I will state that none of my GPU's bios have been modified nor will they ever be modified. I do not want to risk them to be ruined or destroyed by my mistake of modifying the bios or by overclocking them and shortening their life cycle. As a cypto currency miner you want your gpu's to last at least 2 to 5 years. I can't predict the future but i have a feeling that gpu mining will be around a little while longer and i want to have the opportunity to mine as many alt coins that i can so that one day they too, may have the chance to increase in value like BTC, ETH or other coins have.
I Hope that you will upvote my posting here and find some value in it. Feel free to resteem my post upvote my post and give any feedback or comments that you feel necessary. IMG_2078.JPG
IMG_2082.JPGIMG_2083.JPGIMG_2084.JPGIMG_2085.JPGIMG_2086.JPGIMG_2087.JPGIMG_2088.JPGIMG_2089.JPGIMG_2090.JPGIMG_2091.JPGIMG_2092.JPGIMG_2104.JPGIMG_2105.JPGIMG_2066.JPG

Sort:  

Whats's the wife think of all this?.
Wish I had gotten into but the only mining I know is with a shovel, I'm so 18th century.

NO wife so that is why i could concentrate on my crypto mining and keep my mind clear without worry about it. No offense to wives' out there.

No wife here either lol that's why I'm ready to go all in... missed out on a bitcoin farm startup 4 years ago because I was to busy with work but I'm not going to miss out any longer, please if you get a chance shoot me an email at [email protected] I am also in Vegas and could use some advice if you have the time, thank you in advance.

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @vegasbitcoin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!