I built 13 6-RX 480 GPU mining rigs from scratch.

in #ethereum7 years ago

Hello there everyone. I am not for sure what to say except that earlier this year after knowing about BTC for about 4 years, i finally got into mining Ethereum (ETH) by learning to build 13 6-RX 480 GPU mining rigs from scratch. I am not a programmer nor have I ever taken one computer course in my life, but by using all of my 20+ years experience working with and around computers and the internet, as well as watching very many youtube.com videos, I was successful in building these GPU mining rigs. I had not even ever built my own computer before, but I had lots of experience putting used ones back together and replacing parts in them, so I figured I could do it...and I did just that.

It has not been without problems or a very up and down learning curve but these rigs are running 24/7 and the only time they are not running is if they quit mining from the mining program having some bugs, the internet being tested or needing to be reset, a gpu riser has quit or went bad, the gpu itself has crashed got too hot or gone bad, a power supply unit gets too hot, or goes bad, or from a Windows 10 updating hickup and I have to reset the mining program. This can happen from none to a few times during the day or week. I also have a full time job so when I am at work I use apps to monitor my rigs, the mining program that I use, and the temperatures inside my house. If a rig goes down I will know about it and while it is sometime possible to just shut the power supply off sometimes I am unable to get away from my job duties to turn the rig off completely and I just have to wait until i get home to reset the rig(s) that may have needed to be restarted.

I was very lucky enough to just be able to buy enough AMD RX 470/480 GPU graffics cards to be able to finish my mining rigs before every store and online source ran out of them and there were no more to be had anywhere. I did have one extra GPU but it was the only bad one i had purchased and so when i returned it to newegg.com they were only able to give me a refund, as there were no GPU's to send for a replacement.

All in all i have a total of 79 GPU's mining ETH 24/7. One of my GPU's is running in one of my old desktop units off of a 300watt power supply and has been running 24/7 for over 3 months now. The rest of my rigs have been running non stop for over 2 months approximately.

Theoutside temperatures here in Las Vegas have already been extreme where I live and i have measured them at over 117 as of today outside. My inside temperatures have just reached 99 degrees farenheit inside downstairs, and that is with an evaporative cooler running on high 24/7. I finally had to turn on my air conditioner upstairs as I have to admit I was about ready to pass out. I actually never run the air conditioner as my evaporative cooler works great and has already given my 7 good summers of cool air even when the temps outside have reached over 120 degrees farenheit. But, with 79 little GPU heaters pushing out 150 to 170 degrees farenheit my poor little evaporative cooler can no longer keep up with my whole house temps to keep me cool, but it is still able to keep my rigs just cool enough for them to keep running 24/7.

My electric bill was over $927 for last month and now running at least one of my air conditioning units half the time I would say my next bill will be around $1200 hopefully less. I will not even mention here what kind of profit or coins I am making as I don't think I will ever get rich unless the ETH coins or BTC goes much much much higher in value. And although many have speculated that that will indeed happen there is not guarantees. So I am just going to mine as many coins as I can for as long as I can and hope for the best outcome.

If anyone has any specific questions, I am very open to answering them here so please feel free to ask. If I know the answer I will surely give it to you.

I am not some great writer, but I am an honest one so I do hope you have enjoyed my little part of the Crypto Currency mining history here. I honestly think that the whole world is in an evolutionary change with all of these crypto currencies and we are just beginning this journey to the other side of tech.

If you are already mining , please feel free to share your story with me as I have always found others way more interesting than myself.

Sort:  

Hi there I find your story very inspiring I'm just now starting to build my first big rig and i am also going to be combating this Vegas heat, good thing fall is almost here! I have a few questions and am just wondering if there is anyway you'd be willing to help guide me in the right direction I'm new to the steemit platform and not quite sure how to navigate just yet.

Please if you get a chance shoot me an email at [email protected]