PLEASE STOP POSTING AND UPVOTING, you're eating into my rewards

in #ethics4 years ago (edited)

I'm asking if you consider it a "crime"?

And the "offender" madalchemist posted a comment 10 days ago.

Waytruthlight quit posting two years ago because they were getting unfairly downvoted. Now they just downvote other people out of spite.

This is an awesome model.

Downvote people so they stop posting and just stay mad for two years downvoting random accounts so they get mad and stop posting and just stay mad for two years downvoting random accounts so they get mad and stop posting...

This BOOSTS THE REWARD POOL which gets scooped into the hands of the TOP EARNERS.

It's a WIN-WIN!!!!

nOW, how do we onboard new users..?

Oh, yes, tell the newbz some evil people are posting nasty stuff on steemit and they need to open an account so they can DOWNVOTE them!!!

100 million new steemians practically overnight!

SOURCE CONVO

ALSO, LOWERING THE MINIMUM PAYOUT TO 0.001 (would remove the financial incentive to downvote) AND FLATTENING THE CURATION REWARDS (NO MORE INCENTIVE BONUS FOR VOTING IN THE FIRST 5 MINUTES) WOULD GO A LONG WAY TO "FIXING" STEEMIT (are the band-wagon voters really "adding-value"?)

SOURCE CONVO

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

Copyright notice: Feel free to copy and paste any LOGICZOMBIE original content (posts and or comments and or replies and logiczombie logo, excluding quoted 3rd party content of course) according to copyleft principles. copyleft wiki

Use the tag #LOGICZOMBIE if you'd like to participate in a civil debate or have your post critiqued for logical coherence.

Essential sites for (new) steemit users

Protesting without dialogue (with the sole intent to silence opposition) is harassment, not free speech.

I'm not a fan of ad hominem attacks, but I'm even less of a fan of censorship and retaliation.

Ad hominem attacks and air-horning your opponent are the tactics of FASCISM (dismantles open dialogue and civil debate).

Perhaps anarchy already exists and government is merely the highest manifestation of organized crime. – @thoughts-in-time

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  

@logiczombie has set 7.777 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

downvoted 1% to sort replies.

This BOOSTS THE REWARD POOL which gets scooped into the hands of the TOP EARNERS.

It was a bit of shock to me that one of the stated goals of Economic Improvement Plan was to 'Normalize Flags' as if their was not enough abuse of flags going on already!

More flags = more money for the top-earners!!

I'm no pro in the intricacies of Steem economics @logiczombie, and tbh, sometimes it gets rather taxing and stressful to even think about. I will however provide some thoughts because you were kind enough to think of me in a tag, thank you for that.

I relate what I see here to real world economics, it's a digital transposing how I see it, and through the safety net of a screen barrier, you get the privilege (or disposition?) to see what is really going on with the collective human psyche.

Disagreements happen all the time with people, sometimes to the point of volatility. It is understandable to a degree considering the psychopathic morally destitute system we have created for humanity, but how I see it is, why hold grudges and expend so much energy with a "war" mindset?

There's a Steemian here, who I won't call out by name, had a disagreement with me like a year ago, and goes around behind the scenes trying to create issues for me, when I am not bothering the person at all.. not a bit.. Yet, it just doesn't stop. I feel nothing but pity for that person. It is very sad to me. I've had my disagreements with some (you've seen examples), but it's generally short lived, and I really don't like confrontation. I get over it and move on.

People going to the extremes over a grudge, raping reward pool, exploiting, silencing ect ect... really amalgamates with how shit works in this world. Free speech is an interesting topic. True free speech should have no moderation whatsoever, imo, even if 99.99999999 percent of people do not like the topic, any suppression goes against what free speech is about. (of course, just my opinion!)

I'm not sure if I answered this adequately or not, I did my best with my philosophical based thinking.

I hope you're doing alright my friend.

How does someone "steal" from the "reward pool"?

Doesn't it seem like that would be a systemic design flaw that should be resolved with a systemic fix?

I appreciate your time and consideration.

How does someone "steal" from the "reward pool"?
Doesn't it seem like that would be a systemic design flaw that should be resolved with a systemic fix?

Given the current economics, it's my opinion that vote buying is akin to stealing, because it is off the basis of what "the buyer" feels their content is worth, and not the collective majority. (it also takes some coinage out of everyone else's bucket, somewhat unfairly and selfishly.) Of course this is arguable too, because vote buying is somewhat akin to an ROI based investment so to speak. Many grey areas and varying opinions on this.

I personally do not like the economic structure here, but by participating in it, I am supporting it. Same goes for real world economics. Hard to think free will is such a thing, because those who don't chase the dollar will starve. Unless you obtain the skills and desire to go caveman style out in the woods somewhere.

I appreciate your time and consideration.

Likewise friend. Why payout declined? I wanted to upvote, but consider it a waste of resources to do so (considering the economics..)

!ENGAGE 50

By voting for my "payout declined" comments and posts, you are supporting the highest-quality-community-approved-content of the top-earners!!!

I've concluded that the voting system is completely broken and will use delegation as an alternative.

Vote-selling is exactly like buying banner ads (paid-endorsements), which steemit doesn't seem to have the slightest "problem" with (I'd even buy some myself if they let you pay for them with steem).

By voting for my "payout declined" comments and posts, you are supporting the highest-quality-community-approved-content of the top-earners!!!

Lol, although I do feel your comments and posts are quality, I am not sure I understand the logic here.

Vote-selling is exactly like buying banner ads (paid-endorsements), which steemit doesn't seem to have the slightest "problem" with (I'd even buy some myself if they let you pay for them with steem).

Great point, but if it's truly "paid endorsement" a user might decline rewards and pay for the promotion, otherwise, it's profitable "paid endorsement" right?

And I don't see many flags on the posts that decline rewards and pay for votes.

I think it's logical to "assume" that not declining rewards, and buying paid endorsement that is profitable, comes with the intent to earn from the paid promotion, otherwise the user would be willing to take a hit to promote their content.

Yeah, many aspects are broken alright, but given how this system works, I do find it hard to envision a perfect system, and that is probably why I'm just a lowly content creator :P

Great point, but if it's truly "paid endorsement" a user might decline rewards and pay for the promotion, otherwise, it's profitable "paid endorsement" right?

If I pay an ex-football-star to sign tee-shirts at my car-dealership next week-end, I expect that's going to be "profitable" right?

But you're not paying an ex foot ball star, you're paying yourself by way of paying for a profitable vote.

By voting for my "payout declined" comments and posts, you are supporting the highest-quality-community-approved-content of the top-earners!!!

Lol, although I do feel your comments and posts are quality, I am not sure I understand the logic here.

When you vote for something that's "payout declined" your contribution goes directly into the "reward pool" which gets distributed to all the posts that make more than $20 steem, with the highest percentage of the pool getting distributed to the top-earners who are providing the highest-quality-community-approved-content!!!

So you're not contributing your steem to me, you're contributing your steem to whoever the whales decide "deserves" your steem (but I still get a small rep boost).

But hey, I still got around it didn't I, with some ENGAGE , so you got rewarded for your time whether you like it or not!!!! 😛

I get it now, I thought this might be what you mean.

It seems rather sarcastic, directed at the top earners in a bitter way.

Not really sure what to say, but I get where you're coming from to a degree. Still, why not accept rewards? Being bitter about it and declining rewards while spending time to create conversation and content is not really cool in my opinion. It doesn't serve much of a purpose to me.

It's just my opinion man, but by saying that, it's like saying "vote me so you can support all the people I don't agree with", which doesn't really taste good to me.

Just being honest, but I do support your opinion, just not going to upvote on the bases of such sarcasm. It's rather negative to me, and lacking any semblance of positive forward thinking.



@logiczombie you have received 50 ENGAGE from @futuremind!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I remember when you got fifteen steem to start. The majority of the time you couldn't get on steemit during the day...back then I usually was on at night as in the wee hours of the morning so that helped a lot. I guess they changed it to stop people from creating multiple accounts to scam the system.

I guess they changed it to stop people from creating multiple accounts to scam the system.

Are talking about free flags here?
The people with the most number of alt accounts appear to the whales and they are the people who directly benefit from the removal of rewards from other accounts.

The people with the most number of alt accounts appear to the whales...

Yup.

Those downvoting, I'm not sure there's any measure that would stop them. The only thing will be to counteract them with upvotes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you think it's a little strange that the same people who benefit the most from downvotes are the same people who changed the code to allow more downvotes?

No, they only thinking of themselves. The same people who operated bots are now downvoting others for seeking bot upvotes

I guess they've lost their moral coherence!

"...how do we onboard new users..?"

That's under control.

Zoiks!

Here's the new boss, same as the old boss...

Ok, not short.

A minimum payout can be had by buying sbi shares.
A coded minimum payout would lead to sybil attacks.

What we have is working is working almost as well as the original @dan had in mind.
This will only improve as the inflation, and selling, dilutes the ninjamine.

The ninjamine blew the math curves all to hell, but the nature of the design fixes that in a few more years.

What was the question, again?

A coded minimum payout would lead to sybil attacks.

Please explain.

Bots already reap the pool, if they were guaranteed payouts there would be no end of them.

Ah, ok. Why not just kill all the automatic newb delegations from @steem?

If new accounts started with ZERO steem-power, wouldn't that solve the problem?

Steemit could be "invite only", like fa.cebuk (and a few others) when it first started (you'd need a sponsor).

Why not just kill all the automatic newb delegations from @steem?

No rc's, no posts.
They have to have some delegation to even vote.
We have invites now, nobody is getting viral signups.

Honestly, we have plowed most of this ground in the first year.

No rc's, no posts.

Maybe if the newb delegation expired after 30 days that would cut down on the exploit?

What would help is the community making a welcome wagon to vet accounts.
It takes vigilance because behaviors change without notice.
Steemcleaners and SFR have stepped up into that role.

Right now it is hard on the newbs because of the tax on low sp votes.
I haven't gotten good answers to my questions about that, and it leads me to be suspicious.

When i got here, newbs did not matter in the math until much higher sp amounts.
It is better now, afaik.

Stinc does keep an eye on accounts and lowers the delegation as sp grows.
'Soon' there might be a fork to make rc pools which will let the newbs comment, but their votes will be even dustier.

Broken links to replies (-4rep) that don't show on my replies feed,


IMAGE SOURCE

For example, https://steemit.com/steemit/@logiczombie/q5p0k8

Doesn't show stopthemarkymarks comment at all, not behind a click through "show comment" or anything.

And if you view the comment from stopthemarkymark's replies page, the link is broken,

For example,
https://steemit.com/steemit/@stopthemarkymark/re-q5p0k8-20200214t153241

Tag @futuremind, @crypto.piotr, @freebornangel, @bewarecenterbase

Please fact-check my brief post and set-me-straight if I'm mistaken.

Tag @ura-soul,

Please fact-check my brief post and set-me-straight if I'm mistaken.

By the way, this post is copy-pasta and super low-effort.

Congratulations @logiczombie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7250 replies. Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.
You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

downvoted 1% to sort replies.