Satirically Yours- Etiquette for Young Modern Steemers: Shit posting 101

in #etiquette7 years ago (edited)

Welcome class. Please be quiet and take your seats. (pause) There now. Much better. Thank you all for coming. I know it was court ordered attendance for some of you, but we can overlook that. You're in room 112C. My name is Dr. Aggroed. And you're here to study modern Steeming Etiquette. Everyone here supposed to be in this room? Yes? Then let's begin today's class session on Shit posting properly.

Many people like to post pure shit on this platform. That is of course your right to do so, but there are some generally accepted rules to govern such behavior.... Excuse me sir, yes you, can you please take off your hat. We're trying to be civilized. Thank you.

Let's start by defining what exactly a shit post is.

A shit post will have at least one of the following characteristics.

  1. You supply a link, an image, or a web hosted video with virtually no text, context, or support and you yourself did not create the page, image, or video that you shared.
  2. The post took you literally under 1 minute to put together from start to finish.
  3. The post incites hate on purpose and as it's central point.
  4. It's a post that already showed up on your wall that you're simply jiggin' a little and then reposting as your own.

What's that? A selfie... are you naked in it? Then sorry. If it's just a plain selfie then it's a shit post. Yes? You in the back. Sorry dear, it's still a shit post even if you're hot. Yes, sorry, especially if you have duck lips.

But you really want to shit post

Oh don't worry! I'm not saying that you can't shit post. This platform is quite welcoming. I'm simply stating there is a simple rule that makes your shit posting ok and non-harmful to the community rewards and unlikely to hurt your future earnings by pissing off your followers and "autobots."

All you have to do is the following. In the bottom right hand side of your article click the drop down menu and switch it to "Decline Payout."

Once you have accomlished this brief task you should feel free to shit post as much as you'd like. Yes Miss? Do I have a recent example? Yes I do.

https://steemit.com/btcc/@aggroed/steem-is-6-away-from-getting-on-btcc-1-day-left-btc-touches-usd2700
https://steemit.com/steem/@aggroed/btcc-poll-if-you-don-t-vote-for-steem-then-then-ethereum-terrorists-will-win
https://steemit.com/btcc/@aggroed/currently-in-second-place-on-the-btcc-thing-you-should-probably-vote-for-steem-if-you-want-it-to-go-up-in-price

These are all regarding the BTCC twitter poll. I'll admit to having seen it on my wall. So, I decided to resteem the post and then as time went on to make new posts and share those. It isn't exactly breaking news that the polls have shifted slightly over time or that the poll is closing soon because that post has been going around. So, I myself considered all three of these to be shit posts and as a consequence I opted with pride to "decline payout."

Are there any ways out of these Rules?

The main one is that Minnows will be forgiven for such transgressions. Their behavior doesn't greatly impact the platform and they are still learning how to navigate this place.

The other main rule is a "work" around. Get it... the point is that it takes work to turn a shit post into a post that's valuable. You create an article surrounding the thing you just posted.

Are there consequences for shit posting without the decline payment option selected?

No? Yes? If you do it once in a while you might not be punished by the community. If you do it many times it's possible your followers will abandon you. If you're a whale and you do it then it's possible that a boogie man will hunt you down. You will ultimately hurt your reputation and long term rewards by shit posting without declining your payments.

Now if you'll excuse me I have some very important things to attend to.

Class Dismissed









You can find me lurking on steemspeak, a discord channel that many steemers use to text and talk to each other- https://discord.gg/qjpRj7w
I can also be found on steemchat as @aggroed. If you have a post to share give me a good sentence or two of why you think I’ll like it.

Sort:  

Upvoted...because of new shitposting tag. ;-)

Should be trending any minute.

Thank you sensei I'm pretty sure there are a lot of us re-checking our blog-walls for any "transgressions" lol Too bad there isn't a DELETE button yet on here to help clean out those sins. All you can do is drive attention AWAY from useless posts I believe. Regardless, we should always think before we post and make sure that what we are putting out there is of REAL value to the community instead of just filling in gaps for the sake of it. I recently posted something that I believe to be of some value to the community regarding those of us who are into comics for example. The only problem I see is the (sometimes) lack of communication and involvement to help each other get our stuff out there. For example, I found this post that I read from you EXTREMELY helpful for those of us who are new, what will I do with it? Re-steem it of course amd upvoted no-duh lol keep that good advice coming fellow steemian 😉

Thanks boss. Glad to have you here.

The honor is mine ;)

Hey @aggroed, have a question about Steem. How can I see am I marked by Steem as spammer? I was not spamming at all. What I don't understand is that my posts earn less and less money. Before there were many posts with cca 0.20$, now every post is 0.01$. I did post some of my photos, just to see how Steem work, but also did some posts in english. They were not to long because I 'm trying Steemit for now. How to check am I marked as spammer?

You have a small following. And your pictures aren't getting picked up. You may want to change the tags or change the content. Your reputation score of 42 is normal for an early minnow. Just keep at it. Many of my posts are worth pennies. It just takes a while.

Ok, thanks. I want to write about a lot of things. It's a quite effort to write long article on english to someone that english is not primary language. I gave it a go with pictures to try out Steemit, but now $ are declining. I will change tags to see the change. Thanks for advice.

Take good note of the different tags available and think about the tag as it does make a big difference and try to be consistent in looking at your followers and their articles and vote and resteem them, it only takes a minute.

Sometimes I feel the same way @cmoljoe. Those that put in the time adapt to consistently connect with their followers will find the most success. Don't give up you got this!
Best,
Isaac

I leave this without comment. It wasn't me..

@aggroed,
Thanks for the good class. I just graduated from college and they did not teach this content. I am a victim of public schools. I will pull my pants up and take my hat off next time. ;)
Best,
Isaac

Teachers Pet :) Thanks for the class. I'm still a Minnow but I did do a s__posting. I wanted to share a video that I really liked while I was learning how to actually post a YouTube video/pictures etc.... on Steemit. I will write 1000 times on the chalkboard that " I will not s__post ever again." Upvoted:)

Wow, what a lesson! And I have to say I love the satire!

Great! That's what I'm going for!

Hahaha, I love a good etiquette lesson! Especially since, as a super-fresh minnow, I'm more than a little worried about accidentally transgressing.

nobody comment on this post - aggroed has serious business ahead that cant be interrupted by responding to shitposting questions !!!

unless, you want to delegate the beer and titties to me, in which case I'll send you the invoice ;>

Hopefully my resteem I enough to get it into trending.

Yeah. You got it blowin' up!

I now know how to properly share my shit to everybody on this platform. Thanks for the helpful guide!

and you will be loved for it theoughout the land.

They will write my name with the legends.

Congratulations @aggroed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Satire is most effective in driving the point home. How many will decline payouts though? Wonderful post @aggroed