ROOKIE TO ROOKIE: I'v been hacked on exchange market and I Insured my coins!!!

in #exchangemarket7 years ago (edited)

ROOKI MISTAKE :(

I want to talk about hacking the exchange platform's and how to secure your coins before somebody steal them from you because that just happened to me on Bittrex by my mistake, but first I decided that I'm going to tell you my story how I entered in crypto world as a 100% rookie. About a week ago I started to invest in criptocurrency exchange market and I was trying to figer it out how/where can I buy all this coin's which I saw on Coin market cap. Before that I was talking to the people and reading evrything on so many coins that my brain blow out "I wanted to invest in evrythin". I have to admit there are some coins which are very interesting, but if you dont have so much money to invest, take your self some time and investigate the thing's that are possible for your investment budget. I knew that I don't have so much money to invest so I came up with solution that I'm going to buy some penny coin's for long term investment like: Doge, Sia, DigiByte, Byte, Redd coin... and so on. I like this investment's because every coin that I mentioned have a low price, so if you invest in something with low price you can expect low risk and biger gain's. In general, the advantage is also because you buy a large amount of coins. Anyway be careful because they can disappoint you if you didn't pick the right one. When you know evreything about it and you allready made a list of coin's you want to invest you can expect some rooki mistake. Don't wory that is like in the in the package when you start messing up with crypto world :)

Okey, so enough about my story and get to the point :D
So Poloniex is my main platform where i keep most of my investment's but I decided to register in Bittrex too because they are offering a lot of penny coin's that I wanted to invest in. Point of this article is that you do not overlap your eyes with the fact that there are no hacker attacks on platform's like Poloniex, Bittrex... and so on!!! When I was writing down my list of coins, I noticed that I can't have just one platform because I wanted to invest in some coin which were not availible on Poloniex.
From my own experience I think that Poloniex is much more safer webside than Bittrex but still can't trust their saftey...
My Rooki mistake was that when I registered myself on platform I didn't set up all security procedures. There was just mail and a simple password. Well after three days when I was registered on Bittrex guess what happend? they hacked me and toke everything :/

ROOKIE IS LEARNING FROM HIS OWN MISTAKE :)

VERY IMPORTANT:
ROOKIE does not invest in every cryptocurency that he sees on social media,
ROOKIE have to inform himself about criptocurency his investing it,
ROOKIE have to know what kind of company stands behinde the specific currency he is viewing,
ROOKIE have to know their vision.

ROOKI HAS ESTABLISHED TWO-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION (2FA) :D

Another very important rule!!! Don't invest your money before solid security!!!

Google Authenticator generates 2-Step Verification codes on your phone.

2FA PROVIDES stronger security for your Google account by requiring a second step of verification when you sign in. An addition to your password, you'll also need a code genereted by Google Authenticator app on your phone. Webside like Poloniex an Bittrex support people that they take this Safey procedure.

STEP 1: To set up 2FA go to Google store and type "Google Authenticator" and install:

Screenshot.png

STEP 2: When you set up is complete go to your Poloniex account and click setting's:

Poloniex 1.png

STEP 3: Scan QR code with your Google Authenticator, fill in current password and 6-dig code which you get from Authenticator:

Poloniex 2.png

Thank you for reading this :D This is my first poste, hope you will like the article :) Have a good day!!!