You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I used BlockTardes when I came into Steemit- Forced to on the way out.

in #exchanges6 years ago

I have no problem with letting you have my active key, as I would notice the first power down. New users may not notice anything if not warned what power comes with that key.

My problem is with the new users who have given up the owner key. I have been on the phone most of today telling them to clear their accounts because they can be locked out. An owner key allows the one who has it to change all three keys including the owner key.

I have a Dash master node,which requires 1000 Dash in one account, and Dash has neither asked me for my private keys nor spoken about the risks of doing so.

Sort:  

I agree with you that steemconnect should probably not mention the option of using the owner key as opposed to the active key. I would change the wording now, but it's not our site that hosts that code. But I'll raise the issue with steemconnect guys and see what they say.

Could you add a pop up alert to your site when people choose to use Steemconnect? Something along the line of please remember to use your active key to help keep your account secure?

Could you add a pop up alert to your site when people choose to use Steemconnect? Something along the line of please remember to use your active key to help keep your account secure?

Yeah, it should be clear that Active is sufficient (or password, from which active (and owner) can be derived).