WHOOP Training Plan Week 2

in #exhaust4 years ago

Screenshot 2020-10-25 at 6.57.02 PM.png

This is my final run on week 2 of my WHOOP training plan. I posted my first week at the following post here. If you remember, I am taking part of a scientific study that WHOOP is currently running and I am in the control group of runners for the 5km training plan. Today is Sunday and I finished off my last run for the week.

For everyone playing at home, this is the plan for week 2. For the training plan, day 2 and 4 are the main work days with all other training days being easier training runs.

  • Day 1: Rest
  • Day 2: 10 minute warm up, followed by 10 x 90 seconds hard effort, with 90 seconds walk. 10 minutes cool down. 50 minutes in total
  • Day 3 Recovery Run 30 minutes of work at 50% effort
  • Day 4: 10 minute warm up, followed by 20 minutes fartlek. 10 minutes cool down. 40 minutes in total
  • Day 5 Rest
  • Day 6 Flex Day 30 minutes of work at 50% effort
  • Day 7 Long Run 60 minute run at 50% effort

This is only the second week and I am expecting the work days to get more difficult. 90 seconds of running hard is kinda similar to my usual speed work where I am doing either 400m or 800m repeats.

The training plan has fit in well with my other training, including the fact I did one of my bigger cycling weeks so far this year with 220km for the week.

Stay Strong Everyone!