Sunday run: Back to the flat

in #exhaust5 years ago

I just finished a 11.047km running that lasted about 1hh:3mm:35.0ss !

image

My last two runs were in Blaenau Ffestiniog in North Wales, which has very little flat and is also the wettest place in Wales. I did well not to get soaked and we got away with a few showers during out week there. As we left the rain was really coming down, but the long drive home was not too bad.

Today I am back to my usual long loop that does have a climb, but it is very gradual. The weather was bright and breezy. Yesterday was very windy and there could be some trees down as well as other damage.

I saw a few other runners out. The local 10km race is less than two months away, so I ought to decide if I should enter. It is fun and running in a crowd seems to push me to better performances.

Hope the Steem runners are having a good weekend.

Run free!

The geeky guitarist and facilitator of the 10K Minnows Project.

Check out some detailed info at [my EXHAUST page](https://beta.xhaust.me/activities/1133/) Join me in testing out [EXHAUST](https://beta.xhaust.me)!
Sort:  

Blaenau Ffestiniog in North Wales

Gotta love a Welsh name! :-)

I think you should enter, the run you describe is probably tougher, and like you say, in a crowd you'll be pushed to a good performance and it'll be fun!

Cg

Some of the names are really hard to pronounce. Not enough vowels in some of them. I am tempted to learn some Welsh so I can at least do the basics when I'm there.

I have just entered the race. It will be another shirt for my collection :)

Nah, it's more fun to butcher the names :-)

Good on you for entering, make sure you give us a blow-by-blow account :-)

Cg

Pleased your drive home was uneventful - sounds like things were frightful in other parts of the country.

It would have been hairy to have high winds when driving over the tops of the hills, but it was okay. Just takes a long time to get out of Wales. I am not sure I could face those roads on a daily basis.

My usual run will happen in a couple of hours! :) Haven't been joining the 10k courses lately, running became somewhat of a fashion here, and high prices + unable to run of the first minutes because of the crowd is a turnoff for me, I prefer my calmer runs by the sea!

I don't do a lot of races apart from parkrun. It makes a change to running alone.

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.957 which ranks you at #353 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 355).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 115 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server