When the going gets tough...

in #exhaust4 years ago

I just finished a 5.415km running that lasted about 0hh:31mm:0ss !

image

...the tough go running. Well, maybe I am not so tough, but running can make you feel good.

My workplace are acting to isolate us as much as possible. That means we cannot mix at lunch with people from other rooms or generally meet in person to reduce the risks of spreading the coronavirus if anyone may have it. It was not state explicitly, but I have to assume this means use of the changing rooms and so I will not be able to run at lunchtime for a while. At least the evenings are getting lighter and so I will try to run after work.

Tonight I was doing my 6 minute interval routine and decided to go straight down the village. That takes me to the new cemetery and then you run out of footpath. I actually ran around the cemetery as I wanted to find how to access a World War I memorial garden that is behind it. I could not find the way through this time, but will head back there some time. Arlesey is spread out along a fairly straight road and was said to be the longest village in the country at some point. The route is pretty flat, but there are a few side roads to cross. I had to watch out as people were coming home around then.

As I left the house it started to drizzle, but I did not end up too wet. The first and third sprints were fairly good. The second was compromised by my bit of exploration, but I was struggling for speed on that one anyway. I resorted to walking for some of the rest periods. I would really like to be able to maintain 5min/km for longer. I have managed that on some parkruns, but seem to struggle recently. I will keep it up with the interval training and see if I improve.

I am fairly sure my half marathon will get called off or postponed as most events are for the next few months. That will not stop me running and maybe I will be even quicker by the time I do another race.

Run free and stay healthy.

image

image

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

I did weight training in the morning yesterday and then when I got home from work my wife wanted to take the dog out for a walk. We did a good mile or two at the park. It was nice to get out in the fresh air. Hopefully the weather warms up so we can do that more in the coming weeks when I am off work.

It's not bad out today. I still get steps anyway getting to work and it's early finish today.

That may have been my last running post on Steem. Hoping @exhaust moves to Hive soon.

I know, it is pretty surreal isn't it? Raining here today, so I did my two mile walk inside this morning.

You have uploaded 108 running activities, and 22 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

Over these 22 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 114.64 kms at an average pace of roughly 5:20 min/km!
Your latest run was at a pace of approximately 5.724min/km!
Looks like you went a bit slower this time! Remember that it's important to take some rest days, and do some rehab / prehab / strength and conditioning training too! If you weren't intending to go slower, take a moment to listen to your body, and see if you need something. Check in with yourself!

Nothing can stop a consistent Runner.
@runningproject

Resteemed by @runningproject

...and enjoy a good recovery !BEER and see you at HIVE


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @runningproject for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

My workplace are acting to isolate us as much as possible.

They are not letting you work from home? What a miserable set of bastards... or are you going in by choice?

It's a bit tricky as you need a specific laptop to do that and they are in short supply. Others are doing so and it's a bit quiet in the office now. I don't mind going in though. At least I'm not doing the long commute I had a few years back.