Sort:  

you make "steem backed dollars" (SBD) everytime another person upvotes your comment or post, and everytime somebody makes a post in steemit they make the steem blockchain more profitable, because more people are using it, so the price of SBD increases.

it's the opposite of bitcoin, you make a profit by solving problems, but in steem, you make profit by using the platform.

I got that much. What I didn't get is how do I make profit by using the platform ? Like for instance This thread is getting paid. Why ? it doesn't make any literal sense to me.

you are not "getting paid". People liked your post, so the platform is giving you SBD for using steemit, and because of people who upvoted you.

This is not money, it's cryptocurrency. The money steemit pays only have value because of market especulation.

I think I'm getting it now. well what ever. It's a good platform to start blogging. Since it's new . Everything else should be a bonus :D

I am also new to this and want to know. I like it a lot so far as a platform to share in a 'social media' platform. I think Facebook and such is becoming "old news" I am hoping this is the new way to make friends and be connected around the globe.

I doubt FaceBook is Becoming "Old news" . Most of us are here for money. But we dun even know why we are earning lol.

Yeah, you are probably right, but I can dream of a place where we use our collective connection to make BETTER things happen in a world of paid algorithmic distractions.

As a person who travels a lot and is mostly out of the USA as a way of life, I like Facebook to keep up with the things, birthdays, births, and such. I see that Facebook allows me to keep up with friends from my youth in ways my parents did not have, often reminding me of how life passes and things change; as I see my childhood friends becoming parents, grandparents and such.

But, it seems right now, on a lot of social media, EVERYONE IS YELLING for no reason but to try and be the loudest.. and the "most right"

Truly that's just sad. Social media has turned most of us into anti-social. This is why there is reddit or 4chan. Where people actually talk about interesting stuff instead of trying to be the "Most Right"