You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I just reserved an Aptera!

in #exxp3 years ago

Ahhhhh, I actually used to work for Toyota, but I haven't been keeping track of their developments. I thought they were going down the hydrogen fuel cell route. Obviously I have a ton more research to do... this space is exhausting in it's excitingness...

Sort:  

yeah, it was only really announced a few weeks ago and they are working together with Subaru on their all-electrics. Should be really interesting to see if they can scale it at a lower cost, as Toyoto is pretty good at making quality cars for the masses.

They really are! My partner had a Toyota Echo for 14 years without a single issue (except windscreen and battery replacement). That's kind of amazing.

Our last 3 cars have been Suburus so it really is an excellent partnership. Really excited to see what comes out of this.

Just came across this ridiculous number.

50% of cars in Norway sold last year were full electric. 0.19% in Australia.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/norway-leads-the-way-on-electric-car-sales/news-story/e9b8f02cbd043ccc6717163da07cfe1c

It drives me crazy that Australia is so far behind in renewables. The country has the environment, the education and the motivation to be a world leader in this space. My FIL believes that the big Tesla battery in South Australia 'just doesn't work' despite all the statistics and data showing it to be an incredible success.

If I remember correctly, they did it in less than 100 days and under the 100M budget. The alternative was a decade long project and 6-10 billion in investment to do the same.

Yeah, but it just doesn't work.