Travelling For The First Time After The Lockdown(s)

in #exxp3 years ago (edited)


It's been exactly one year since I have been to any place other than my balcony-backyard and terrace.

Finally, I am travelling after all the lockdowns and in this blog I’ll share with you how things have changed, mainly with the public transport and the such. Welcome to the first impression of “almost post-COVID” times.

When the Corona spread started to get worse, I was expecting to be home till December anyway. But, since the announcement of successful vaccine trials and most places opening again, I couldn’t really resist myself. So, the first step was to get out of my town and go to the nearest place possible.

This time I was not alone. In fact, even the plan wasn’t mine. I joined my childhood friend who was so frustrated staying home for too long with the wfh routine. It was a five days plan to stay in Ernakulam.

ACCOMODATION

Most places have resumed booking. However, hostels and hotels are not the options I am considering these days. But, it is not difficult to find those in my opinion.

Some places ask for the COVID test results within a certain time frame. Again, these things depend on the state you are travelling to and the stats of the COVID cases.

TRAVELLING BY BUS

It was with much of hesitation we took the first bus from Thrissur to Ernkulam. The AC/Low floor bus services have not started. So, the ordinary KSRTC buses are the only option. It was a comfortable journey, with less passengers.

Every state has their own guidelines to cope with COVID.

In Banglore, my next destination, things are even more relaxed. Here also I had to take a bus for a longer route and they only allow passengers that can be seated.

So, if you are thinking of going somewhere a little far, it is better to go for a reserved seat/ticket during these times. Last minute plans might not help you reach your destination.

TRAVELLING BY TRAIN

Ernakulam to Banglore was my first train after all the lockdowns. This is when the shocking reality struck me. Most of the (or to say almost all) trains are cancelled. Places where we could go directly now takes either connection trains or buses.

Some of the stations were so deserted that I was the only one at the station other than the station master and the other staff who waves the flag. If you have ever travelled in Indian railways you know how different it is to find empty seats and empty stations.

The same with the trains. Almost the whole of the train was empty till we reached another state. Social distancing, well, its not that possible when you are using public transportation. But, less crowded trains feels better than what it used to be pre-COVID.

With that being said, you need to reserve your seat to get in. With only a few or very few trains to most destinations, it can be challenging if you are planning a last moment trip. Also, the waiting rooms are not functional at some stations either.

At this point, I feel planning tickets is one of the first steps in post COVID travel.

FOOD

Most of the restaurants are back in business. Even though delivery orders are preferred, dine-in is open in most places. However, I could not find many options near the railway station I was going to board at.

But, sometimes your blessings do come in disguise. I was at this small café near the Ernakulam station where I thought I would wait until my friend come to pick me up. I was thinking to go to a far-away station to catch the train to Banglore.

That is when a group of railway officials came there for their tea and in the conversations they said my train stops at another station which is much closer and I don’t need to go to the one I was planning to. That saved a lot of my energy and time J

I try to consume little to no food from outside now. You don’t really find much of food options in the train like how it was used to be.

COVID TESTS AND APPS

Reaching Banglore, it was a bit surprising to me when someone at the station exit collected the paper tickets from everyone. I have no idea why this is. But they were not returned back. There were a few points where they were offering free COVID tests right outside of the station.

One reason I hated going outside during these times is the tests and apps that came with COVID. You need an Arogya sethu app according to the guidelines. However, I am not sure how mandatory it is now. In addition to that, some states have their own apps to track down things.

Overall, it feels good to be on road even though the masks are really annoying. Sometimes it feels funny to see how many are wearing the masks just for the sake of not getting any fine and not serving the purpose.

It feels great regardless of the discomforts, to have hope, to feel a different climate and to live in these times. I hope you are too feeling the same :)