You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collapse for Australia

in #exxp6 months ago

I recon we are already seeing lots of supply chain issues, more increasing prices and inflation is on the move again. I just heard on the radio this morning that real estates values are back to all time highs. How long has it been since you been in Australia, you will probably see lots of changes. For me the most noticeable is working conditions which has been a real race to the bottom. Lots of casuals, labour hire and more salaried positions to get away from paying overtime. We may have had it too good for too long. Will be interesting to see how it all pans out. Though I am not that worried, might help us to develop and make more things here.

I am not sure about renting being a good idea . The under supply of rentals is driving that up as well, I think I would rather take my chances of trying to own something even without insurance.

!LUV
!LOL
!ALIVE

Sort:  

Yeah, I don't think I'd want to rent long term, purely because I'd want to be able to set up a place as I want it - essentially as resilient as possible - but I'm also assuming it'll take us some time to even find a property we can afford that ticks all the boxes, considering the absolute lack of supply in Melbourne. It's just hard given how expensive property in Melbourne is relative to our salaries.

I know I'm not alone in thinking Australia needs to put way more effort into affordable housing... if companies pay people less to try and be competitive in the international markets but then those workers can't afford to live anywhere close to those manufacturing plants, then the system breaks.

If Australia does end up with multiples of the population of climate refugees in the next few decades - it's going to need so much housing.

@new.things sent you LUV 🙂 (1/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@aussieninja! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I'm reading a book called Anti-climax.
The first part was good.

Credit: reddit
@aussieninja, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of new.things

(2/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM