You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name That Game! - Contest #24 - Full upvote for the winner!

in #exyle5 years ago

WOW! I did not expect that! I sure hope you let me know how you got that from just that sliver of a screenshot!

I have the original cartridge of the game...and when I got it it was not in English but in German....what a struggle it was to play the game!

Screenshot 2019-08-05 at 00.01.16.png

Sort:  

I just remember playing it for hours and hours maybe because I liked medieval stuff with knights and castles, and I loved the movie as well and watched it at least a dozen times on VHS. I didn't even have a NES of my own, but sometimes we rented one with a game or two for the weekend from a video rental store. Because it was only for the weekend, I didn't do much else, but play the NES for the whole time.

One memory of the game is the fake isometric view where the castles looked 3D, but you could not walk behind a tower. You would bounce off like the tower was fallen to the ground. Maybe the wall on your screenshot reminded me of that.

Another memory was getting very far in the game where you needed the druid dagger to defeat a boss, but for some reason I had given the dagger to Duncan who leaves the party at some point and takes everything in his inventory with him. So I had no choice, but to start over and make sure the druid dagger stays in my inventory the whole time.

Maybe it was that moment of frustration which burned this game in to my memory. 😁

Thanks for the upvote and for this fun competition. Many of your screenshots have brought back some fun memories. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

What an awesome story! As a gamer myself I can relate so much. Thanks for sharing man!