You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the 50th Time, I'm gaining even more Faith in Steemit...

in #exyle4 years ago

Sign me up :)
(Both to communities in general, and beerandbbq specifically)
Any word on name-squatting prevention? At 3 STEEM each, that's a lot of names going very cheap.

Sort:  

Actually, I think I recall a conversation a while ago, where communities are numbered, and the names can be duplicates of existing names. Is that what we ended up going with?

Yeah, that's it, although I got a comment by @jarvie stating:

However there is still a ton of discussion to be had about URLs for interfaces

Discord seems to do it well. You see me as "mattclarke" there; when I'm actually mattclarke#6202.
Perhaps communities could be beerandbbq0002 etc
If I join based on a link in your post it doesn't matter that somebody else has beerandbbq0001.
But yes, it would make URLS untidy.

Yeah the interfaces have long decided on most common url standards for users,
topics on steem... adding communities will be very interesting for sure.