Sort:  

Seriously considering it myself too. The only problem is that I just recently converted my instagram account into a business account and created a "shop" on my FB biz page.

Was hoping to try out the shopping tags you can add to instagram posts and you have to have an instagram account converted to a business one that's linked to a FB page with a shop on it.

Only, I haven't been given the green light for turning on the shopping feature and it's been a couple weeks now since I jumped through all the hoops.

Funny thing though... just as soon as I converted my instagram account to a business one that's linked to a FB page shop, I noticed the user responses to my posts dropped to almost nothing. I usually get some feedback to images and posts on a fairly regular basis, depending on the time of day, luck, and quality of the posts.

It's almost as if converting to business level, instigated some kind of throttling of my content, so as to encourage me to buy ads to promote?

Regarding the "addiction", I've been spouting off about that for nearly 2 decades now.

Sometimes, I'll take a trip out into the desert in Mexico... to a place where there's no internet cafe, or cell phone towers at all. Just to cut off for a week or two.

The first couple of days there's noticeable withdrawal, but it subsides pretty quickly, and I end up feeling like some heavy negative irritant tumor has been excised from my brain. Feels pretty sweet actually and all of these ideas start streaming into my consciousness.

Need to do that again soon I think. :)

Interestingly, I also "business-ified" my Instagram account and also saw post engagement drop to essentially nothing. (And I use Instagram a lot, and have a good feel for how any given post will be received.) I noticed it immediately, and wasn't happy at all.

I came to the same conclusion you did: that a "business" instagram account requires constant input of money in the same way a business Facebook page does, and decided I didn't like that one bit. So I turned it off.

As for completely excising the entire Interwebs, I see the point, and have done it, but I'm not terribly fond of it. Given my career choices, it's pretty obvious I have at least a moderate case of narcissism that manifests itself in me wanting to show others the dope shit I'm doing. Without the Intardwebs, well... if a tree falls in the forest etc.

Yes, I get that. I enjoy the interaction and getting feedback on my own creative endeavors. It’s just that every now and then I feel a need to kick the monkey off my back for a little while.

I’ve also noticed that when my brain doesn’t have a constant morphine drip of content fixes... without a constant source of passive entertainment... it (the brain) seems to kind of wake up and starts entertaining itself with new ideas and wild imaginings.